Dublin Finish Strong To Beat Derry and Capture Division 2 Crown


Four second half goals saw Dublin destroy the Derry defensive record to leave Division 2 behind with the title

John Small scores 1-01 against Derry in Division 2 Final

Dublin 4-06 Derry 0-11
Allianz National Football League Division 2 Final
Croke Park, Dublin

Goals win games, and this afternoon Dublin fianlly showed their dangerous streak in front of the posts with four quick fire green flags to dominate the second half and put a extra layer of polish on their short stay in Division 2 of the National Football League, beating Derry.

James McCarthy climbed the Hogan Stand steps to take hold of the Division 2 silverware and he and his team mates will feel content to have dismantled a Derry defence that was a trademark of Rory Gallagher’s side ahead of today’s proceedings.

Dublin only managed four first half points with an onlooking Hill 16 feeling rather dispondent. But the introduction of second half substitutes ignited the boys in blue on the restart as they were more calculated in their trademark attack.

Green Flags the order of the second half

Two minutes into the second Killian O’Gara punched the ball into the Derry net beating keeper Odhran Lynch to the leap. With Con O’Callaghan brought down in the square, it was down to Paul Mannion to convert from the spot, and convert he did.

John Small took his opportunity when fed the ball from Tom Lahiff to make it three goals, the number of goals Derry had conceded in the entire campaign before today. And substitute Lorcan O’Dell, who was certainly the difference in the second half, finished the quartet late on.

If today thought Dessie Farrell’s charges anything, it’s they are more than capable of breaking down a defensive structure should they encounter it again in the upcoming championship, and they most likely will. They showed signs of patience in the opening session. And despite trailing to Derry by 2 points at the half time whistle, that patience wasn’t rocked.

With Division 1 football secured for Dublin next year they can now concentrate on the impending Leinster Championship Quarter Final in 3 weeks time.

Scorers for Dublin:

Killian O’Gara 1-01
John Small 1-01
Paul Mannion 1-00 (1-00 pen)
Lorcan O’Dell 1-00
Lee Gannon 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Tom Lahiff 0-01

Scorers for Derry:

Shane McGuigan 0-06 (3f)
Paul Cassidy 0-02
Conor Glass 0-01
Padraig McGrogan 0-01 (1 ’45)
Niall Toner 0-01 (1f)


1. David O’Hanlon
2. Michael Fitzsimons
3. David Byrne
4. Daire Newcombe
22. Cian Murphy
6. John Small
7. Lee Gannon
8. Brian Fenton
9. James McCarthy
19. Tom Lahiff
11. Con O’Callaghan
12. Seán Bugler
13. Colm Basquel
14. Dean Rock
24. Killian O’Gara

Dublin Substitutes:

10. Ciaran Kilkenny for Rock (9)
23. Lorcan O’Dell for Basquel (45)
21. Paul Mannion for O’Gara (45)
25. Niall Scully for Lahiff (55)
15. Ross McGarry for Bugler (68)


1. Odhran Lynch
2. Padraig McGrogan
18. Ben McCarron
4. Conor McCluskey
5. Pádraig Cassidy
6. Gareth McKinless
7. Conor Doherty
8. Conor Glass
9. Brendan Rogers
10. Niall Toner
11. Paul Cassidy
12. Ethan Doherty
24. Benny Heron
14. Shane McGuigan
15. Niall Loughlin

Derry Substitutes:

13. Lachlan Murray for McCarron (35)
19. Shea Downey for Glass (39)
26. Niall O’Donnell for Doherty (Blood 47–52)
20. Matthew Downey for Heron (57)
3. Eoin McEvoy for McGrogan (68)
26. Niall O’Donnell for Rogers (74)