Dublin’s Injury List Lengthened With Lauren Magee, Oonagh Whyte And Kate Sullivan Picking Up Injuries Against Cork

Lidl National Football League Division 1 Round 4

Dublin v Galway

Sunday February 23rd

Venue: DCU, St Clare’s

Throw-In: 1pm

Referee: Maggie Farrelly (Cavan)

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has made two changes to the Dublin starting 15 for this Sunday’s NFL meeting with Galway in DCU, St Clare’s.

Selecting a starting team for each game is proving a difficult task as Dublin’s injury list continues to lengthen with each passing game.

Three more players joined the walking wounded after the one point loss to Cork the last day out.

Lauren Magee (shoulder), Oonagh Whyte (concussion) and Kate Sullivan (leg) were the unfortunate players injured.

Magee has since undergone surgery on her shoulder and she is expected to be unavailable for selection for 6 to 8 weeks which all but rules the Kilmacud Crokes player for the rest of the league campaign.

For Sunday’s game against Galway which will be a repeat of the 2019 All Ireland final, Clontarf’s, Niamh Hetherton will start in midfield in place of Magee and partner Jennifer Dunne in the Dublin engine room.

The second change to the Dublin starting team will see Laura Kane take the place of the injured Kate Sullivan in the half-forward line.

There is good news though for Dublin as Siobhan Killeen is named in the Dublin squad for the first time since May of last year.

Killeen a former soccer international missed the entire 2019 championship and the first three rounds of this years league after ripping the hamstring off the bone in a completely innocuous situation in training.

Siobhan has worked extremely hard to get back to competitive football and is a very welcome and timely return particularly with the lengthening injury list and Dublin missing the services of a number of key players such as Sinead Aherne, Nicole Owens, Noelle Healy, Siobhan McGrath, Niamh McEvoy and Sinead Goldrick.

With Dublin manager Mick Bohan unable to pick a settled side due to the injury list lengthening its not surprising that results have been mixed.

To date in the league Dublin have recorded a draw with Tipperary, a win over Mayo and a loss to Cork.

Dublin’s opponents on Sunday Galway have, after a shock 1st round defeat to Waterford, won their next two games against Donegal and Westmeath.

Add in the fact they may well feel they have a point to prove after losing last seasons All Ireland Final to Dublin, it should make it a very interesting game in two days time.

Referee Maggie Farrelly from Cavan will get the action underway in DCU, St Clare’s at 1pm on Sunday.




1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids

2. Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes)

3. Muireann Ni Scanaill (Fingallians)

4. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

5. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

6. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

7. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

9. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

10. Niamh Sweeney (Ballinteer St Johns)

11. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

12. Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely)

14. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

15. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

The Dublin team list which sees two changes to the starting 15 which played against Cork as Dublin’s injury list lengthens.

Dublin Substitutes:


16. Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna)

17. Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis)

18. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

19. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

20. Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy)

21. Sarah McCaffrey (Clontarf)

22. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

23. Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf)

24. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely)

25. Grace Kos (Kilmacud Crokes)

26. Cassie Sultan (Kilmacud Crokes)