Dublin Ladies Footballers Begin Quest To Retain All Ireland Title

Dublin’s Lauren Magee gets away from a Waterford player in their game in 2017, the Dublin Ladies Footballers fave off against the same opposition this weekend in their opening group game of the TG4 Senior All Ireland series

TG4 SFC All Ireland Series

Dublin v Waterford

Saturday July 13th

Venue: O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

Throw-In: 3:30pm (live on TG4)

Referee: G McMahon, Mayo

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named his Dublin team to face Waterford in tomorrow’s opening group game in TG4 Senior All Ireland series.

Bohan has made three changes to his side that started the Leinster Final against Westmeath two weeks which saw Dublin claim their eighth provincial title in-a-row.

There was one black mark on that victory and that was the loss of captain Sinead Aherne to a shoulder injury early in the game and the inspirational leader will sit out tomorrow’s encounter against The Déise.

Into to the Dublin side comes Eabha Rutledge at corner-back in place of Martha Byrne, All Star Lyndsey Davey who missed the Leinster Final comes back into the starting 15 for the injured Aherne and Oonagh Whyte who scored 2-02 in the provincial decider is replaced by Jennifer Dunne in the half-forward line.

The Dublin ladies footballers faced Waterford two years ago in Nowlan Park and goals from Sinead Aherne and Nicole Owens helped Dublin to a comfortable win by 2-15 to 1-07.

Tomorrow’s contest is expected to be a more competitive and closer game, Waterford have had a good season to date, they secured top flight league status for next season by winning division 2 of the Lidl NFL and reached the Munster final and gave Cork a stern test.

That will give Waterford plenty of confidence heading into tomorrow’s game against the reigning All Ireland champions Dublin.

Dublin though won’t be short in that department either after coming through a stern test of their own against Westmeath in the Leinster Final two weeks ago.

That should guarantee a rip-roaring contest in O’Moore Park tomorrow afternoon. The action gets underway at 3.30pm and the game is LIVE on TG4, for those who can’t either make it to the game or watch it on TV there will be LIVE updates of all the action over on the We Are Dublin GAA Twitter account @wearedub

Dublin Starting 15:

1. Ciara Trant

St Brigids

2. Éabha Rutledge

Kilmacud Crokes

3. Niamh Collins

Foxrock Cabinteely

4. Rachel Ruddy

Ballyboden St Endas

5. Aoife Kane

Kilmacud Crokes

6. Sinead Goldrick

Foxrock Cabinteely

7. Lauren Magee

Kilmacud Crokes

8. Olwen Carey

Thomas Davis

9. Siobhan McGrath

Thomas Davis

10. Nicole Owens

St Sylvesters

11. Niamh McEvoy

St Sylvesters

12. Jennifer Dunne


13. Noelle Healy


14. Niamh Hetherton


15. Lyndsey Davey

Skerries Harps

Dublin Panel:

16. Rachel Fleming

Kilmacud Crokes

17. Martha Byrne


18. Sarah Fagan


19. Kate Fitzgibbon


20. Emma McDonagh

Foxrock Cabinteely

21. Muireann Ní Scanaill


22. Lucy Collins

Na Fianna

23. Oonagh Whyte

Clann Mhuire

24. Caoimhe O’Connor


25. Siobhan Woods


26. Carla Rowe

Clann Mhuire

27. Sinead Aherne

St Sylvesters

28. Hannah O’Neill

Foxrock Cabinteely

29. Ciara McGuigan

Thomas Davis

30. Orlagh Nolan

Ballinteer St Johns