A Formidable Looking Dublin Team Announced For League Semi FInal

Dublin Manager Mick Bohan Names A Formidable Team For League Semi Final 

Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 Semi Final

Dublin v Galway

Sunday 22nd Of April

Venue: Coralstown GAA, Kinnegad, Co. Westmeath

Throw-In: 3pm

Referee: S Mulvihill


Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named a formidable side for this Sunday’s Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 semi final against Galway in Coralstown GAA in Kinnegad at 3pm.

The team that is named is certainly a statement of intent from Dublin who are searching for their very first Division 1 League title.

First step of course is overcoming a good Galway side to reach the competitions decider on the 5th Of May.

Bohan has picked a dangerous front six of Nicole Owens, Noelle Healy, Sinead Aherne, Niamh McEvoy, Lyndsey Davey and Oonagh Whyte.

The Galway defence will be under severe pressure throughout the game trying to contain a Dublin forward unit that possesses an abundance of firepower, pace, power, movement and intelligence.

It’s not just the starting 15 that the girls from the West will have to worry about, a look at Dublin’s star studded bench which includes numerous All Ireland winners and some exciting new talent all chomping at the bit to be involved, is a testament to how strong the Dublin Panel is right now.

Lauren Magee returns to middle of the field to renew her impressive midfield partnership with the dynamic and imposing Olwen Carey.

2010 All Ireland winner Siobhan McGrath switches to the halfback line from midfield to form the country’s most rock solid first line of defence alongside Sinead Goldrick and Niamh Collins.

And sitting right behind them is the tightest marking fullback line from Malin head to Mizen head in the shape of Martha Byrne, Deirdre Murphy and Leah Caffrey and the best goalkeeper around Ciara Trant.

A welcome addition to the Dublin panel for the first time this year sees the return from injury of All Star defender Sinead Finnegan.

Galway Will Find Dublin A Different Proposition Than La

Dublin and Galway met in the league a few weeks back in Abbotstown which the girls in Maroon won by two points 1-17 to 1-15. With ten players just returned a few days before the game from the All Star Tour in Bangkok the girls in blue produced their flattest display of the campaign. Galway will find Mick Bohan’s charges a completely different opposition on Sunday.

Galway are a good side and Captain Tracey Leonard, Áine McDonagh, Mairead Seoighe Sarah Conneally are capable of causing the Jackies plenty of problems on Sunday in Kinnegad, but will they get enough of the possession and space they will need to get at Dublin, time will tell.

The feeling is that Dublin will be unhappy at the one blemish on their League record this year and will be determined to overturn that result and also set down a marker.

This weekends semi final could be a shootout between two high scoring teams but looking down through the two panels Dublin on paper look to have the more prolific forwards both starting and on the bench.

With that in mind it may be close game for the majority but Dublin superior strength in depth will see them take this one by five plus points.

Dublin Senior Ladies Football Starting 15:


1. Ciara Trant

St Brigids


2. Martha Byrne



3. Deirdre Murphy

St Brigid’s


4. Leah Caffrey

Na Fianna


5. Siobhan McGrath

Thomas Davis


6. Sinead Goldrick

Foxrock Cabinteely


7. Niamh Collins

Foxrock Cabinteely


8. Lauren Magee

Kilmacud Crokes


9. Olwen Carey

Thomas Davis


10. NicoIe Owens

St Sylvester’s


11. Niamh McEvoy

St Sylvester’s


12. Lyndsey Davey

Skerries Harps


13. Oonagh Whyte

Clann Mhuire


14. Noelle Healy

St Brigid’s


15. Sinead Aherne

St Sylvester’s




16. Sinead Finnegan



17. Aoife Kane

Kilmacud Crokes


18. Eabha Rutledge

Kilmacud Crokes


19. Emily Flanagan

Ballyboden St Endas


20. Hannah O’Neill

Foxrock Cabinteely


21. Siobhan Woods



22. Kate Fitzgibbon



23. Katie Murray



24. Jennifer Dunne



25. Laura McGinley

Naomh Barrog


26. Siobhan Killeen



27. Tarah O’Sullivan

Foxrock Cabinteely


28. Julia Buckley

Kilmacud Crokes


29. Shannon Murtagh



30. Rebecca McDonnell

Clanna Gael Fontenoy