St Judes crowned All Ireland Junior club champions


Three first half goals laid the foundations for St Judes to become All Ireland Junior club champions for the very first time

St Judes players celebrating being crowned All Ireland Junior club champions.

St Judes 3-09

Mullinahone 1-08


By Darren Kelly


Captain Aoife Keyes scored a crucial goal as St Judes were crowned the All-Ireland Junior club champions following a seven-point victory over Mullinahone in Baltinglass.

Three first half goals from Caoimhe McGrath, Keyes and Aisling Gannon gave Jeff Kane’s charges a 3-4 to 1-4 half-time lead against the elements, and they kept their opponents at bay afterwards to become the first Dublin club since St Maurs in 2016 to win the title.

But it was the Tipperary outfit who got off to a stunning start with a goal after just 28 seconds. Nicole Shelly and Denise Gaule were involved, with the latter finding Aoibhe O’Shea who finished to the net.

Mullinahone were determined to use wind to their advantage and an excellent point from Catherine Foley put them four clear.

And with the O’Shea sisters causing mayhem, Lorraine set up Aoibhe for two more scores to help Mullinahone into a 1-3 to 0-0 lead on 10 minutes.

But gradually St Judes got their running game in gear and the Leinster representatives finally got off the mark in the 13th minute as Hannah Hegarty and Caoimhe McGrath linked before the latter scored the goal.

A free for Ellie Young reduced arrears but when St Judes attacked again through Hegarty and Niamh Kerr, Keyes struck the second goal and made it 2-1 to 1-3 at the water break.

Mullinahone were on the back foot and on 20 minutes St Judes made them pay again with Kerr and Young assisting Aisling Gannon for goal number three.

Kerr and Young added points before Lorraine O’Shea ended a 17-minute drought for Mullinahone leaving them 3-3 to 1-4 in arrears before Young got the final score of the half.

A yellow card for Lisa Morris reduced St Judes to 14 players after the restart but they held par with Mullinahone during the next ten minutes. Hegarty and Young converted against two Lorraine O’Shea scores for Mullinahone.

St Judes applied pressure to the opposing kick outs and reaped the benefits as Claire Gannon and Young made it 3-8 to 1-6.

While the O’Sheas added to their respective tallies, Mullinahone needed a goal that didn’t come. Emma Cody was closed out for one chance while Lorraine O’Shea missed with two efforts.

Young completed St Judes’ tally with her sixth point of the afternoon and they clinched a first ever All-Ireland for the club.

St. Judes Scorers


14. Ellie Young 0-06 (4f)

24. Caoimhe McGrath 1-00

9. Aoife Keyes 1-00

20. Aisling Gannon 1-00

11. Niamh Kerr 0-01

8. Hannah Hegarty 0-01

4. Claire Gannon 0-01


Mullinahone Scorers


9. Aoibhe O’Shea 1-03

12. Lorraine O’Shea 0-04

10. Catherine Foley 0-01


St. Judes


1. Aoife McAuliffe

2. Laura Doherty

3. Emily Browne

4. Claire Gannon

5. Caitriona Devlin

6. Aoife Walsh

18. Leah Butler

8. Hannah Hegarty

9. Aoife Keyes

20. Aisling Gannon

11. Niamh Kerr

12. Clíodhna Nicoletti

13. Lisa Morris

14. Ellie Young

15. Hannah Begley


St. Judes Substitutions


7. Niamh Murphy for 18. Leah Butler (40)

15. Hannah Begley for 13. Lisa Morris (46)

23. Laura Martina for 9. Aoife Keyes (52)

19. Róisín Connolly for 5. Caitriona Devlin (59)

26. Aisling Darcy for 2. Laura Doherty (60)




2. Eimear Horan

3. Gráinne Horan

4. Aoife O’Brian

5. Emma Cody

6. Molly Walsh

7. Jennifer Brett

8. Nicole Shelly

9. Aoibhe O’Shea

10. Catherine Foley

11. Michaela Kenneally

12. Lorraine O’Shea

13. Chloe Gunn

14. Denise Gaule

15. Claire Egan


Mullinahone Substitutions


25. Marion Gillman for 15. Claire Egan (HT)

22. Alison Fennelly for 13. Chloe Gunn (60)

Referee: Barry Redmond (Wexford).