New Look Dublin Team Named Round One Of The 2023 Lidl Ladies National Football League


Dublin start their 2023 Lidl Ladies National Football League against reigning Division One champions Meath

Dublin Captain Carla Rowe pictured standing on a supermarket checkout at a photoshoot for the 2023 Lidl Ladies National Football Leagues

Mick Bohan has named a new look Dublin side for tomorrow’s opening round game of the 2023 Lidl Ladies National Football League against defending champions Meath in DCU, St Clare’s at 5.15pm.

Dublin are missing a number of players for various reasons, Nicole Owens, Hannah Leahy and Rachel Hartnett are all unavailable due to serious knee injuries, Sinead Goldrick has remained in Australia and a number of seasoned campaigners are taking time to evaluate their availability for the 2023 season.

That sees two players making their senior debuts tomorrow, Niamh Crowley who is straight out of the minor grade is named at corner back and Leitrim native Eilis O’Dowd pulls on the Dublin jersey for the first time and partners Jennifer Dunne in midfield.

Among the substitutes are eleven senior newcomers with Dannielle Lawless, Shannon Richardson and Emma Strappe called up to the senior panel after stellar performances during the recent club championships. The familiar faces of Abby Shields, Kate Sullivan and Siobhan Woods are also among the substitutes available to Mick Bohan for tomorrow’s game.

It may be a new look Dublin team but the captain for Saturday evenings game is none other than four time All Ireland winner Carla Rowe who’s wealth of experience and guidance will be vital to the new players in the team and squad.

Meath are under a new manager this year in the shape of David Nelson and The Royal County will also be shorn of a number of players from their League and All Ireland team for tomorrow’s round one encounter including Vicki Wall, Orlagh Lally and Emma Duggan.

Kevin Phelan from Laois will get the action underway at 5.15pm in DCU. And for those supporters who can’t make the game it will be broadcast live on TG4 from 5.00pm. Tickets for tomorrow’s highly anticipated clash still remain on sale from

Dublin: 1. Emer Ni Éafa (Fingallians), 2. Niamh Crowley (Fingallians), 3. Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), 4. Jessica Tobin (Cuala), 5. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 6. Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), 7. Martha Byrne (Cuala), 8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), 9. Eilis O’Dowd (Na Fianna), 10. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), 11. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), 12. Ellen Gribben (St Brigids), 13. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), 14. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna), 15. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely).

Dublin Substitutes: Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), Annabelle Timothy (St Finians Swords), Emma Deeley (Na Fianna), Chloe Darby (Parnells), Roisin Baker (Na Fianna), Kerri Owens (Thomas Davis), Shannon Richardson (O’Dwyers), Siobhan Woods (Raheny), Julie Vaughan (Ballyboden St Endas), Emma Strappe (Castleknock), Hannah Howard (Fingallians), Tammy Quinn Corbally (Thomas Davis), Grainne Fitzsimons (Cuala), Emma O’Malley (Round Towers Clondalkin).

Meath: 1. Monica McGuirk, 2. Shauna Ennis, 3. Mary Kate Lynch, 4. Katie Newe, 5. Niamh Gallogly, 6. Aoibhín Cleary, 7. Máire O’Shaughnessy, 8. Aoife Minogue, 9. Aisling McCabe, 10. Aine Sheridan, 11. Aoife Farrell, 12. Ailbhe Leahy, 13. Megan Thynne, 14. Meadhbh Byrne, 15. Ciara Smyth.

Meath Substitutes: Robyn Murray, Olivia Callan, Orlaith Mallon, Stacey Grimes, Niamh O’Sullivan, Shelly Melia, Sarah Wall, Olivia Gore, Amy O’Leary, Ali Sherlock.