New Ireland Assurance Dub Stars
Date: Sunday January the 8th 2017
Venue: DCU St. Clare’s
Throw-In Times: Junior Dub Stars 11.30am
Senior Dub Stars 1.30pm

The annual Dub Stars challenge match takes place this Sunday January 8th in DCU the event is the first competitive outing of the new season providing both players and management with an ideal opportunity to dust off the holiday cobwebs.

Since the event commenced back in 2009 (not played 2012/2013) Dublin lead the way with 3 victories to the Dub Stars, two. (2009) Dub Stars 2-11 Dublin 2-10, (2010) Dublin 3-06 Dub Stars 0-0, (2011) Dub Stars 5-12 Dublin 0-09, (2014) Dublin 6-15 Dub Stars 0-05, (2015) Dublin 3-14 Dub Stars 1-11.

This eagerly awaited contest will certainly offer new senior Dublin boss, Mick Bohan with an excellent opportunity to cast his eye over a number of players who will be vying for a place in his 2017 NFL Panel thus adding some additional spice to the match.

Dublin begin their LIDL NFL campaign with a home fixture versus Monaghan on January 29th next.

Former All Ireland winning minor captain, Emma McDonagh (Foxrock Cabinteely) will lead the Dub Stars out against five in a row Leinster champions, Dublin at 1.30pm.

There will be plenty of football action on display in DCU on January 8th as the senior contest will be preceded by the Junior Dub Stars game which gets underway at 11:30am. The inaugural Junior Dub Stars match took place last year and was a tremendous success so much so the panels have been increased to 25 this season to include 50 players representing 37 junior clubs from right across the County.

Each player chosen on the Dub Stars and Junior Dub Stars panels will each receive a full Dub Stars kit along with a specially commissioned Dub Stars commemorative medal courtesy of event sponsors New Ireland Assurance.

Admission to the Dub Stars event on January 8th in DCU will be free of charge however patrons will be encouraged to support a bucket collection in aid of the official charity partner of Dublin LGFA, Aoibheann’s Pink Tie.

Dublin LGFA will have LIVE score updates available from both games via their Twitter page @dublinladiesg

Dublin: Ciara Trant (St Brigids), Shannon Richardson (O’Dwyers), Amy Conroy (Round Towers, c), Naomi Clare (St Maur’s), Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis), Siobhan Woods (Raheny), Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), Noelle Healy (St Brigids), Molly Lamb (Kilmacud Crokes), Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog), Nicole Owens (St Sylvester’s), Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps), Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely). Subs: Jade Sweeney Knott (Thomas Davis), Orlaith Durcan (Skerries Harps), Jennifer O’Dell (Templeogue Synge Street), Kelli Taite (Templeogue Synge Street), Sinead Aherne (St Sylvester’s), Margaret Mohan (Clontarf), Michelle Davoren (Kilmacud Crokes). Dublin Management: Mick Bohan, Tony Diamond, Niamh McEvoy, Sorcha Farrelly, Ken Robinson

Dub Stars 2016: Emer Ní Eafa (Fingallians), Emma McDonagh (Foxrock Cabinteely), Rachael Byrne (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Ciara Crotty (Foxrock Cabinteely), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Deirdre Murphy (St Brigids), Claire Ryan (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Eadaoin McGuinness (St Maurs), Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Niamh Ward (Fingallians), Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely), Olivia Leonard (St Maur’s), Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Elaine Kelly (St Brigids), Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely). Subs: Anne Marie Murphy (Foxrock Cabinteely), Tarah O’Sullivan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Kate McKenna (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Jessica Kelly (St Maurs), Niamh Carty (St Maurs), Emily Flanagan (Ballyboden St Endas), Siobhan Kennedy (Clontarf), Ciara Regan (Kilmacud Crokes), Niamh McGoldrick (Thomas Davis), Ciara Burgess (Castleknock). Dub Stars Management: Pat Ring, Pat Kane, Mark Kelly, Grainne Clare

Junior Dub Stars (Blue Team): Aoibheann O’Dwyer (Parnells B), Aoife De Burca (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Aoife Reardon (Thomas Davis B), Audrey Murtagh (Lucan Sarsfields B), Christine Harford (Fingal Ravens), Ciara Buchanan (St Finians Swords), Ciara McConnell (Ballyboughal), Elin Kirwan (Round Towers Lusk), Emma Barry (Foxrock Cabinteely), Gillian McCluskey (Erins Isle), Heather O’Neill (Naomh Barrog), Helen White (Garristown), Julie O’Neill (St Brendan’s), Lisa Breheny (St Monica’s), Louise Coonagh (Trinity Gaels), Mide Ní Shuilleabhan (Na Fianna B), Orla Ryan (Whitehall Colmcille), Rachel Slater (Castleknock B), Rachel Tully (Parnells B), Ruth Weakliam (O’Dwyers), Sandra O’Connor (St Finians Newcastle), Sarah Brennan (Naomh Mearnog), Sarah McManus (Fingallians), Shauna O’Hara, Captain (O’Dwyers), Shelley Delahunty (Crumlin). Blue Team Management: Michael Blount (O’Dwyers), Paul Kennedy (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Gerry Rooney (Ballyboughal)

Junior Dub Stars (Navy Team): Anne O’Donovan (Clanna Gael Fontenoy B), Aoife Costello (Naomh Barrog), Aoife Hennessy (Ballyboughal), Aoife Martin, Captain (Naomh Barrog), Celine Darcy (Whitehall Colmcille), Debbie Lowe (Na Fianna B), Dee Maher (St Jude’s B), Emer Kelly (Clanna Gael Fontenoy B), Emma Bolger (Ballymun Kickhams), Emma Grouse (Craobh Chiarain), Erica Byrne (O’Dwyers),Faun Duggan (Clanna Gael Fontenoy B), Frances McCann (St Anne’s), Grainne McGinnty (St Sylvester’s B), Hannah O’Connor (Clontarf B), Hannah Richardson (Man O War), Jennifer Judge (St Peregrines), Jessie Lynch (St Monica’s), Karen White (Wanderers), Kayley Hannon (Parnells B), Meabh Malone (Kilmacud Crokes B), Rachel Staunton (Stars of Erin), Rosie Cully (Raheny), Sarah Burns (Ballyboden St Endas B), Sorcha O’Kelly (St Monica’s). Navy Team Management: Gavin Donegan (Naomh Barrog), Suzanne Hannon (Parnells) Philip Kelly (St Monica’s).

For more information on event sponsor New Ireland Assurance:

For more information on the official charity partner of Dublin LGFA: