Dublin’s Mick Bohan Named Manager Of The 2018 Lidl Ladies NFL  

Dublin manager Mick Bohan in a grey shirt is presented with his manager of the league award by LGFA president Marie Hickey in a black lace dress with two men either side in grey suit jackets and white shirts
Mick was presented with his award by Irish Daily Star Sports Editor, Brian Flanagan, Ladies Gaelic Football Association President, Marie Hickey, and Lidl Ireland Sponsorship Manager Jay Wilson. Croke Park, Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile


DUBLIN’S Mick Bohan has been named as the Lidl/Irish Daily Star Manager of the 2018 Ladies National Football League.

Bohan guided the Sky Blues to TG4 All-Ireland senior glory in 2017 during his first year at the helm, when Mayo were defeated in front of a record 46,286 attendance at Croke Park.

Following on from that success, Dublin made history earlier this month (May 6th) when they beat Mayo in the Lidl Ladies NFL Division 1 final, to win the county’s very first top-flight crown.

Mick Bohan and his Dublin side now turn their attentions towards the TG4 Leinster senior final against Westmeath on July 1, a game that has been fixed for Netwatch Cullen Park in Carlow (4pm).

Meanwhile, the Lidl/Irish Daily Star Manager of the Month for May 2018 is Tipperary’s Shane Ronayne.

The Cahir-based schoolteacher has presided over a remarkable couple of years for the Premier County, who went unbeaten in 2017.

Last year, Tipp won the Lidl Division 3 title under Ronayne’s stewardship, before landing the TG4 Munster and All-Ireland intermediate crowns.



In 2018, Tipp found the step up to Division 2 of the Lidl National League very much to their liking, and they won the divisional title by defeating Cavan in the May 6 decider at Parnell Park, to ensure Division 1 football next year.

Tipp will face Cork in the TG4 Munster semi-final next Saturday, June 2nd, in Ardfinnan (2pm), with the winners of that game to face Kerry or Waterford in the provincial decider.

The players honoured on the Lidl Teams of the 2018 Ladies National Football League received their awards at Croke Park last Friday evening.

The players on each of the four divisional selections were nominated by opposition managers after each round of fixtures, and the players who received the most nominations were included.


Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League:


1. Ciara Trant (Dublin)

2. Martha Byrne (Dublin)

3. Sarah Tierney (Mayo)

4. Jennifer Rogers (Westmeath)

5. Fiona Coyle (Westmeath)

6. Ciara Hegarty (Donegal)

7. Sinéad Burke (Galway)

8. Aileen Gilroy (Mayo)

9. Muireann Atkinson (Monaghan)

10. Karen Guthrie (Donegal)

11. Tracey Leonard (Galway)

12. Nicole Owens (Dublin)

13. Niamh Kelly (Mayo)

14. Yvonne Bonner (Donegal)

15. Grace Kelly (Mayo)


Three Dublin players in their Lidl team of the NFL white jersey with red, yellow and blue stripes sweeping from under the arm to bottom middle of jersey
Dublin’s players (left to right) Martha Byrne, Ciara Trant and Nicole Owens at the LGFA Team Of The Lidl NFL Awards Night In Croke Park. Image Credit: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile


Division 2 Lidl NFL Team of the League:


1. Evelyn Baugh (Cavan)

2. Sarah Marley (Armagh)

3. Maria Curley (Tipperary)

4. Michelle McGrath (Waterford)

5. Sinéad Greene (Cavan)

6. Samantha Lambert (Tipperary)

7. Caoimhe Condon (Tipperary)

8. Jennifer Grant (Tipperary)

9. Emma Jane Gervin (Tyrone)

10. Aoife McCoy (Armagh)

11. Aisling Maguire (Cavan)

12. Aishling Sheridan (Cavan)

13. Aimee Mackin (Armagh)

14. Aishling Moloney (Tipperary)

15. Katie Walsh (Sligo)


Division 3 Lidl NFL Team of the League:


1. Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford)

2. Katie Newe (Meath)

3. Maria Byrne (Wexford)

4. Sarah Powderly (Meath)

5. Louise Scully (Kildare)

6. Niamh Mernagh (Wexford)

7. Niamh Gallogly (Meath)

8. Bernie Breen (Wexford)

9. Aisling Curley (Kildare)

10. Mairead Daly (Offaly)

11. Roisin Byrne (Kildare)

12. Fiona Rochford (Wexford)

13. Stacey Grimes (Meath)

14. Rebecca Finan (Roscommon)

15. Catriona Murray (Wexford)


Division 4 Lidl NFL Team of the League:


1. Kim Connors (Wicklow)

2. Emily Mulhall (Wicklow)

3. Emma Kelly (Antrim)

4. Olivia Giltenane (Limerick)

5. Shauna Ryan (Limerick)

6. Stephanie Cochrane (Antrim)

7 Lorna Fusciardi (Wicklow)

8 Emma Doherty (Derry)

9 Sinéad Woods (Louth)

10 Paula Murray (Louth)

11 Jackie Kinch (Wicklow)

12 Mairead Kavanagh (Limerick)

13 Eimear Smyth (Fermanagh)

14 Kate Flood (Louth)

15 Grania Murphy (Carlow)

Video Credit: Jerome Quinn