Meath Ladies Football Captain in a green jersey with yellow stripes from the shoulder to the bottom is presented with the U14 Leinster Ladies Football Trophy by the Leinster President in a navy jacket, white shirt and cream tie with brown stripes


Dublin 0-09

Meath 6-11


A clinical display from Meath against Dublin this afternoon in Coralstown/Kinnegad GAA Club secured the U14 Leinster Ladies Football Title for the Royal County.

The scoreline at the finish didnt reflect what was a highly competitive game but it was Meath’s ability to take their opportunity which was the deciding factor in the end.

Meath got off to the perfect start with a goal from Sarah Jane Lyons and by the fifth minute the ly stretched their lead to six with points from Ellen O’Bierne with a nice finish and two from Rebecca McCann.

In the sixth minute Dublin grabbed their first score of the contest a converted free from Nia Hannon.

The game was end to end and the sides scored a pair of points each, Rebecca McCann with two for Meath and Timea Kovacs and Kate Skillington for Dublin.

The girls from the Royal County pushed further ahead with points from Sarah Jane Lyons and Ellen O’Bierne. Dublin who were enjoying plenty of possession responded with three unanswered points from Eabha Ní Mhaolagain, Timea Kovacs and Lauren Darcy.

Meath has the last day of the half with a point from Allanah Brady to give her side a five point lead at the break with the score 1-08 to 0-06.



The second half was a mirror image of the first with an early Meath goal scored by Elena Kennedy and another point from Sarah Jane Lyons put them in the driving seat.

Dublin just as they had in the first thirty minutes were enjoying plenty of the ball but some misplaced passes and good Meath defending denied them any clear cut chances at goal.

A pair of converted frees from Dublin’s Nia Hannon reduces the deficit as the game then entered a ten minute scoring drought with both teams missing a number of chances.

That drought was ended with nine minutes of regulation time left in the game with two quick fire goals for Meath scored by Sarah Jane Lyons and Katie Twomey.

Meath finished the game strongly and points from Sarah Jane Lyons and Megan Murray and two more goals scored by Roisin McManus and Katie Twomey put Meath our of sight.

A point in injury time from a free scored by Dublin’s Nia Hannon was the last score of the game as Meath ran out deserving winners to secure the U14 Leinster Ladies Football title.



Dublin Scorers:


15. Nia Hannon 0-04 (4f)

14. Timea Kovacs 0-02

13. Kate Skillington 0-01

3. Eabha Ní Mhaolagain 0-01

11. Lauren Darcy 0-01


Meath Scorers:


15. Sarah Jane Lyons 2-03 (1-00f)

18. Katie Twomey 2-00

10. Rebecca McCann 0-04

11. Elena Kennedy 1-00

12. Roisin McManus 1-00

13. Ellen O’Bierne 0-02

27. Allanah Brady 0-01

26. Megan Murray 0-01


Dublin Ladies Football Squad In sky blue jerseys and navy shorts pictured before the U14 Leinster Ladies Football Final




1. Sasha O’Neill

2. Sydney Weir McErlean

3. Eabha Ní Mhaolagain

4. Kathlyn Treacy

5. Heather Bolger

6. Sarah Power

7. Saoirse Loughlin

8. Sarah Rooney

9. Ashling Nyhan

10. Kate Watson

11. Lauren Darcy

12. Amber McCluskey

13. Kate Skillington

14. Timea Kovacs

15. Nia Hannon


Dublin Substitutions:


30. Clara Finn for 14. Timea Kovacs (37)

27. Cait Phelan for 12. Amber McCluskey (40)

23. Eimear Adamson for 2. Sydney Weir McErlean (47)

25. Lia Cronin for 11. Lauren Darcy (52)

19. Doireann Egan for 7. Saoirse Loughlin (54)


Meath Ladies Football Squad In green jerseys with yellow stripes across the front pictured before the U16 Leinster Ladies Football final




1. Molly Keating

2. Serena Gavin

3. Lilly Dwyer

4. Anna Foley

5. Emily McCann

6. Molly O’Connor

7. Sarah Caufield

8. Sinead Murphy

9. Niamh Murray

10. Rebecca McCann

11. Elena Kennedy

26. Megan Murray

13. Ellen O’Bierne

14. Lucy Reynolds

15. Sarah Jane Lyons


Meath Substitutions:


27. Allanah Brady for 10. Rebecca McCann (21)

20. Mia Brady for 9. Niamh Murray (HT)

12. Roisin McManus for 14. Lucy Reynolds (38)

18. Katie Twomey for 13. Ellen O’Bierne (41)

21. Ciara Doherty for 11. Elena Kennedy (59)