Loss To Kildare Sees Dublin Relinquish Leinster Minor Title


Dublin Ladies footballer in a sky blue jersey and navy shorts breaks away with the ball from a Kildare player in a white jersey and white shorts during Leinster Minor championship match which seen Dublin Relinquish the Leinster Minor title they have held since 2011


Dublin Relinquish Leinster Minor Title They Have Held Since 2011


Kildare 3-16

Dublin 1-09


There will be new minor champions crowned in Leinster this year as Dublin relinquished the minor title that they have held since 2011 following a second consecutive defeat in the 2019 championship, this time at the hands of a well drilled Kildare outfit.

Kildare throughly deserved their victory today. Defenders Emily Birch and Lauren Murtagh were class from start to finish while up front Sally Murphy, Orlaith Sullivan and Aoife Rathigan were in superb form, amassing 2-09 of their sides total tally of 3-15.

To their credit Dublin despite trailing at the break by 6 points (HT score Dublin 1-04 Kildare 1-10) battled hard in the second half but could not close the gap.

Dublin were up against a formidable outfit who had previously secured both U14 and U16 provincial titles and knew how to defend a lead.

Dublin’s Abbie Shiels showed great maturity and composure in goal, Lisa Davies, Hannah Murphy and Amy Gibbons worked hard under extreme pressure in the back line while Gráinne O’Driscoll and Cassie Sultan both ran themselves into the ground for the sky blue jersey.

Kildare play Meath in the next round in what will be a prelude to the 2019 Leinster final while Dublin will travel to the midlands and a 3rd round meeting with Offaly. The faithful county lost to Meath this afternoon on a score line of 7-16 to 0-09.

Kildare Scorers: Orlaith Sullivan 0-07, Aoife Rathigan 1-02, Emily Birch 1-01, Sally Murphy 1-00, Hazel McLoughlin, Gillian Wheeler, Aislinn Dooley, Hayley McCormack, Mollie Daag 0-01 each.

Dublin Scorers: Eimear Griffin 1-02, Jodi Egan 0-04, Sarah O’Leary, Grainne O’Driscoll, Katie McNally 0-01 each.

Dublin: Abbey Shiels, Amy Gibbons, Lisa Davies, Hannah Murphy, Aine Walsh, Rachel Hartnett, Alanah Coughlan, Grace Kos, Grainne O’Driscoll, Emma McCormack, Sarah O’Leary, Jodi Egan, Cassie Sultan, Eimear Griffin, Carla Fitzsimons.

Dublin subs: Jess Connolly for O’Leary, Megan Colman for Griffin, Katie McNally for Fitzsimons, Caitlin Guiden for Murphy.

Kildare: Ciara Farrell, Emily Birch, Laoise Lenehan, Lauren Murtagh, Emma Carroll, Eve Keogh, Hazel McLoughlin, Aoife Rathigan, Sally Murphy, Hayley McCormack, Orlaith Sullivan, Ciara Price, Molly Aspell.

Kildare Subs: Ruth Birchall for Price, Mia Doherty For Carroll, Jodie Flanagan for Sullivan, Aislinn Dooley for Murphy, Mollie Dagg for McCormack.

Referee: Kevin Phelan (Laois)