Hannah Tyrrell and Carla Rowe shoot Dublin to comfortable win over Westmeath


Hannah Tyrrell and Carla Rowe registered a combined 4-14 to get Dublin’s TG4 Leinster Senior Championship campaign off to a winning start

In action against Westmeath, Hannah Tyrrell and Carla Rowe combined for 4-14 to help Dublin to a comfortable in the TG4 Leinster championship
Dublin’s Hannah Tyrrell in action against Westmeath’s Muireann Scally. Image Credit: Maurice Grehan.

Dublin 6-23

Westmeath 0-04


By Daire Walsh


Hannah Tyrrell and Carla Rowe registered a combined haul of 4-14 as defending champions Dublin heralded the return of the TG4 Leinster Senior Football Championship with a convincing victory against Westmeath at TEG Cusack Park.

In the first game played in this competition since 2019, Tyrrell (2-9) and Rowe (2-5) shone throughout for the Jackies.

Substitute Kate Sullivan also struck 1-2 off the bench and Mick Bohan’s charges can now move confidently into next Saturday’s meeting with All-Ireland champions Meath at Parnell Park.

Having missed out on a fifth successive Brendan Martin Cup title to the Royals last year, Dublin were intent on hitting the ground running in the 2022 championship.

There were just 21 seconds gone on the clock when corner-forward Sinead Wylde rocketed a shot to the Westmeath net.

Her inside partner Tyrrell followed up with a point from play and while the Lake County eventually opened their account through a Sarah Dillon free, Dublin were in for a second goal on 12 minutes.

Named as joint-captain – along with Niamh Collins – for this year, Rowe raised another green flag to give her side a six-point stranglehold. Rowe proceeded to trade scores with Westmeath’s Ciara Blundell, in advance of Dublin midfielder Jennifer Dunne added her name to the scoresheet.

A place-ball effort from Tyrrell was cancelled out by Dillon at the opposite end, but the holders were the dominant side for the remainder of the opening period.

Thanks to unanswered points from the boots of the excellent Tyrrell (three), Nicole Owens and Rowe, the Metropolitan outfit brought a convincing 2-9 cushion into the interval.

Tyrrell extended her tally to six points on the resumption and after Blundell had contributed her second, yet another Dublin goal arrived in the 34th-minute.

Introduced at half-time, Sullivan’s long delivery deceived Westmeath netminder Aoife O’Donnell on its way to the net.

Tyrrell grabbed a three-pointer of her own moments later, before Rowe recorded a fifth major for a rampant Dublin on 42 minutes.

Wylde, Sullivan, Niamh Hetherton and Martha Byrne were also on target either side of the third-quarter mark as the Sky Blues continued to set out their stall.

A Siobhan Killeen single complimented a brace for Rowe, before Tyrrell posted 1-2 without reply in the space of just two minutes.

Sullivan (free) and Owens subsequently rounded off the scoring to complete an impressive display from Dublin in Mullingar.


Westmeath Scorers


11. Sarah Dillon 0-02 (2f)

26. Ciara Blundell 0-02


Dublin Scorers


14. Hannah Tyrrell 2-09 (6f)

11. Carla Rowe 2-05 (2f)

23. Kate Sullivan 1-02 (1f)

15. Sinead Wylde 1-01

12. Nicole Owens 0-02

8. Jennifer Dunne 0-01

21. Niamh Hetherton 0-01

19. Martha Byrne 0-01

26. Siobhan Killeen 0-01




1. Aoife O’Donnell

2. Melek Fagan

3. Muireann Scally

4. Fiona Coyle

5. Aoife O’Malley

6. Amy Alford

7. Chloe Kelly

8. Vicky Carr

9. Tracey Dillon

26. Ciara Blundell

11. Sarah Dillon

12. Kelly Boyce-Jordan

21. Anna Jones

14. Kiara Giles

15. Lucy Power


Westmeath Substitutions


19. Ashley Ruane for 5. Aoife O’Malley (HT)

25. Karen Hegarty for 14. Kiara Giles (39)

18. Niamh Nolan for 6. Amy Alford (44)

13. Chloe Smullen for 21. Anna Jones (53)

17. Kacey Geoghegan for 12. Kelly Boyce-Jordan (58)




1. Ciara Trant

2. Jess Tobin

3. Leah Caffrey

18. Niamh Collins

5. Sinead Goldrick

6. Aoife Kane

7. Orlagh Nolan

8. Jennifer Dunne

9. Lauren Magee

10. Caoimhe O’Connor

11. Carla Rowe

12. Nicole Owens

21. Niamh Hetherton

14. Hannah Tyrrell

15. Sinead Wylde


Dublin Substitutions


17. Kate McDaid for 9. Lauren Magee (HT)

23. Kate Sullivan for 10. Caoimhe O’Connor (HT)

19. Martha Byrne for 5. Sinead Goldrick (41)

20. Ellen Gribben for 7. Orlagh Nolan (41)

26. Siobhan Killeen for 21. Niamh Hetherton (46)