Hannah Tyrell stars for Dublin against Waterford


Hannah Tyrell finished with 1-05 in a sparkling display after a seven year absence from inter-county football

Dublin’s Leah Caffrey tackles Waterford’s Chloe Fennell during Dublins league win in which Hannah Tyrell stared for Dublin.
Chloe Fennell of Waterford in action against Leah Caffrey of Dublin during the Lidl Ladies Football National League Division 1B Round 1 match between Dublin and Waterford at Parnell Park in Dublin. Photo by Ben McShane/Sportsfile

Dublin 6-15

Waterford 2-12

By Aisling Clery

Hannah Tyrell marked her return to inter county football in style this afternoon as the Irish rugby international hit 1-5, as reigning All-Ireland champions Dublin convincingly defeated Waterford in Parnell Park.

In a game that was dubbed a dress rehearsal for Championship, Dublin welcomed back Olwen Carey, Siobhan Killeen, and fresh from their endeavours in Australia, Lauren Magee and Niamh McEvoy.

Waterford did get off to a quicker start and dominated early possession, Maria Delahunty hit one from play and converted a free.

Early Dublin efforts skimmed wide of the post but they opened their account for 2021 with a Sinead Aherne free after Niamh Hetherton was fouled.

As Dublin upped the intensity, Tyrell proved her worth hitting four first-half points. The first was a beautiful long range exchange cross field with Niamh Hetherton and Tyrell was again on the scoresheet twice more minutes later.

Aherne converted her second free from 30 yards before Lyndsey Davey opened up a six-point gap when she found the net after a sweeping team move involved Hetherton and Siobhan Killeen.

Hetherton’s first-half efforts were rewarded with with a point of her own, while returning Killeen and Tyrell also pointed leaving nine points between the teams at the water break, 1-8 to 0-2.

Making her senior debut, Abby Shiels was comfortable in goals while Orlagh Nolan and Leah Caffrey bolstered a Dublin defence that proved difficult to break.

Dublin’s second goal began as a sweeping team move down field and with Aherne in an inch of space, the captain offloaded to Hetherton, the Clontarf player made no mistake finishing to the net to open up a 12-point lead.

Waterford steadied their ship and Eimear Fennell (2) and Delahunty brought the Munster side back into contention. The teams traded scores before the break, with Aileen Wall finding space and Delahunty firing over from short range.

However, a brace of Aherne frees ensured Dublin took a nine-point lead into half time, 2-10 to 0-7.

The third quarter was a tighter affair, although Dublin did have to cope with two separate yellow cards, Aoife Kane just before half-time and Caoimhe O’Connor before the second water break but it had little impact on the champions.

Aherne raised a green flag of her own when Hetherton found her in space and as the substitutions rolled in, the scoreboard continued to tick over.

Aherne (3) and Tyrell raised white flags while Delahunty and Kellyann Hogan converted for Waterford.

The game finished in a goal frenzy with five goals inside eight minutes. Orlagh Nolan and Tyrell found the net for Dublin inside a minute, Aileen Wall and substitute Kate McGrath raised green flags for the visitors. Caoimhe O’Connor signed off on the win for Dublin when she converted from the penalty spot.


Dublin Scorers


15. Sinéad Aherne 1-07 (5f)

17. Hannah Tyrell 1-05

13. Niamh Hetherton 1-01

12. Lyndsey Davey 1-00

2. Orlagh Nolan 1-00

19. Caoimhe O’Connor 1-00 (1 pen)

7. Lucy Collins 0-01

14. Siobhán Killeen 0-01


Waterford Scorers


14. Marie Delahunty 0-07 (3f)

11. Aileen Wall 1-01

17. Kate McGrath 1-00

13. Eimear Fennell 0-02

12. Kellyann Hogan 0-01

5. Chloe Fennell 0-01




1. Abby Shiels

2. Orlagh Nolan

3. Leah Caffrey

4. Olwen Carey

5. Martha Byrne

6. Aoife Kane

7. Lucy Collins

8. Laura McGinley

17. Hannah Tyrell

19. Caoimhe O’Connor

11. Siobhán McGrath

12. Lyndsey Davey

13. Niamh Hetherton

14. Siobhán Killeen

15. Sinéad Aherne


Dublin Substitutions


22. Hannah Leahy for 5. Martha Byrne (28)

26. Michelle Davoren for 13. Niamh Hetherton (43)

9. Lauren Magee for 11. Siobhán McGrath (46)

27. Hannah O’Neill for 14. Siobhán Killeen (46)

23. Jodi Egan for 15. Sinéad Aherne (49)

10. Niamh McEvoy for 17. Hannah Tyrell (49)

28. Sinéad Loughran for 2. Orlagh Nolan (56)

29. Laura Kane for 8. Laura McGinley (56)

30. Ciara McGuigan for 12. Lyndsey Davey (56)




1. Megan Foran

2. Aisling Mullaney

3. Laura Mulcahy

4. Rebecca Casey

5. Chloe Fennell

6. Karen McGrath

7. Mairead Wall

8. Caoimhe McGrath

18. Megan Dunford

10. Roisin Tobin

11. Aileen Wall

12. Kellyann Hogan

13. Eimear Fennell

14. Marie Delahunty

15. Katie Murray


Waterford Substitutions


17. Kate McGrath for 10. Roisin Tobin (38)

20. Aoife Murray for 13. Eimear Fennell (47)

24. Laura Cusack for 2. Aisling Mullaney (47)

19. Brid McMaugh for 12. Kellyann Hogan (47)

21. Niamh Power for 7. Mairead Wall (58)

23. Caragh McCarthy for 5. Chloe Fennell (58)

26. Roisin Dunphy for 11. Aileen Wall (58)