Groupings Confirmed For 2020 TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship


All Ireland Champions Dublin Drawn In Group 2 Of The 2020 TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship

Dublin ladies football squad celebrating on the Croke Park pitch after winning the 2019 All Ireland Final, Dublin have been drawn in Group 2 of the revamped 2020 Senior All Ireland Championship alongside the Munster championship winners

THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association have confirmed the groupings for the revamped 2020 TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship.

The 2020 All-Ireland series will be consist of two groups, with six teams in each, and the top two teams from each group will progress straight through to the All-Ireland semi-finals, following a minimum of five games.

Holders Dublin, who are aiming for a fourth successive TG4 All-Ireland Senior title, have been drawn in Group 2 alongside the 2020 Munster Champions, next year’s beaten Ulster and Connacht Finalists, Ulster’s fifth team, and a Munster semi-final loser.

With no Senior Leinster football Championship next year Dublin will go straight into the revamped All Ireland series.

That will see the reigning All Ireland champions at a distinct disadvantage as far as game time is concerned compared to every other team in the All Ireland series who will all have a number of games already under their belts competing in their respective provincial championships.

Group 1 will contain the 2020 Ulster and Connacht champions, the beaten Munster Finalists, a Munster semi-final loser, and the beaten Ulster semi-finalists.

The bottom team in each group will contest a relegation play-off, unless they are a provincial winner, and thereby exempt from relegation.

The Provincial Championships must be organised on a knock-out basis, with the winners placed accordingly in the All-Ireland series groups.

The 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship will commence on Saturday, July 4, and culminate with the All-Ireland Final on Sunday, September 13.

The semi-finals have been scheduled for Sunday, August 23, with the top two teams in each group featuring.

2020 TG4 Senior All Ireland Championship Groups

Group 1


Ulster Winner

Connacht Winner

Munster Runner Up

Munster Loser SF1

Ulster Loser SF1

Ulster Loser SF2


Group 2



Munster Winner

Ulster Runner Up

Connacht Runner Up

Ulster 5th Team

Munster Loser SF2