Five Changes for Dublin for League clash with Tipperary


Niamh Collins among the five changes for Dublin’s final NFL Round game in Thurles

Dublin’s Niamh Collins in action against Tipperary in 2020, Collins is among five changes for Dublin for their league clash with the same opposition this weekend.

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has made five changes for his sides final Lidl NFL round clash in Semple Stadium against Tipperary.

The five changes to the starting fifteen which began last weekends thriller in Páirc Uí Chaoimh against are, Niamh Collins, Hannah Leahy, Lauren Magee, Niamh McEvoy and captain Sinead Aherne.

That sees Laura McGinley, Niamh Hetherton and Lyndsey named among the substitutes and Siobhan McGrath and Aoife Kane both of whom were substituted last week with apparent knocks not included in the match day squad.

Niamh Collins starts her first game of the league having missed the opening two rounds of games against Waterford and Cork.

Lauren Magee and Niamh McEvoy have been eased back into the team after their return from playing in Australia. Both have contributed off the bench in Dublins two opening fixtures wins and start from the beginning against Tipp.

Another to impress off the bench against Waterford and Cork was Hannah Leahy who is rewarded with her first starting spot for tomorrow evening’s game.

Captain Sinead Aherne returns to the starting team having started on the bench against Cork, the veteran attacker was introduced minutes into the second half in Páirc Uí Chaoimh as Dublin looked to stem the Cork comeback and Aherne’s guile and experience helped to regain control of the game.

Dublin with wins against Waterford and Cork are already through to the Division 1 semi-finals. Their opponents Tipperary suffered losses to Cork and Waterford and will use tomorrow’s game as preparation for the upcoming championship.

Tipperary will look to end their league campaign on a high and give their confidence a boost ahead of their opening All-Ireland championship tussle with Cork on the 17th of July.

Although Dublin have secured their semi-final spot ahead of tomorrow’s game Mick Bohan’s side will not take their foot off the gas, the Dubs will not want to head into the semi-finals on the back of a loss and with huge competition for places in the starting team, players know any drop in standards tomorrow will result in the loss of coveted starting place for the knockout stages.

The game in Semple Stadium in Thurles is set to throw-in at 6.30pm and the game will be shown Live on TG4 with the broadcast beginning at 6.15pm.

If any fans can’t get near a TV tomorrow evening but want to keep up to date with all the action as it happens then We Are Dublin GAA will have LIVE UPDATES over on our Twitter feed @wearedub




1. Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

3. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

4. Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill)

5. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

6. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

7. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

9. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

10. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

11. Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf)

12. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

13. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvesters)

14. Hannah Tyrell (Na Fianna)

15. Sinead Aherne (St Sylvesters) Capt.


Dublin Substitutes


16. Emer Ni Eafa (Fingallians)

17. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

18. Sarah Fagan (Clontarf)

19. Rachel Hartnett (Cuala)

20. Michelle Davoren (Kilmacud Crokes)

21. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

22. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely)

23. Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

24. Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely)

25. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

26. Claire Finnegan (Fingallians)