Scoreboard from the Meath and Dublin Minor Ladies Football Match


Dublin 1-12

Meath 3-16


Emma Duggan from Dunboyne was in inspirational form today for Meath as she steered her side to a ten point victory over reigning champions Dublin in the Leinster Minor Ladies Football Championship.

Duggan chalked up a personal tally of 3-6 with 3-03 coming from play. Her work rate and drive was a pleasure to watch even if you were supporting the girls in blue.

Meath led at the break by 2-08 to 0-02 having the aid of a considerably strong wind for the opening 30 minutes.

To their credit Dublin raised their game considerably in the second half with midfield duo Grace Kos and Grainne O’Driscoll, aided by team captain Jodi Egan playing a instrumental part in Dublin’s comeback.

By the 42nd minute Dublin had pulled the deficit back to a single goal (0-12 to 2-09) but Meath showed great resilience and when Duggan bagged her third goal in the 51st minute the result of the game was never in doubt.

Egan got Dublin’s only goal of the game in the 53rd minute but it came too late for the home side as Meath finished out the game strongly with points from Duggan (2), O’Rourke and Byrne.

Up next for Dublin is a meeting with competition favourites Kildare who enjoyed a 2-22 to 0-02 victory over Offaly this afternoon.

Dublin Scorers:

Jodi Egan 1-05 (1f), Sarah O’Leary 0-03, Laura Quinn 0-02, Eimear Griffin 0-01, Grainne O’Driscoll 0-01

Meath Scorers:

Emma Duggan 3-06(3f), Meadhbh Byrne 0-05, Orlagh Lally 0-02, Sorcha Gough 0-01, Susie O’Rourke 0-01, Sarah Wall 0-01

Dublin Minor Team:

1: Abbey Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), 2: Cassie Sultan (Kilmacud Crokes), 3: Lisa Davies (Foxrock Cabinteely), 4: Hannah Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), 5: Aine Walsh (Clontarf), 6: Rachel Hartnett (Cuala), 7: Niamh Heffernan (St Peregrines), 8: Grace Kos (Kilmacud Crokes), 9: Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala), 10: Emma McCormack (Fingallians), 11: Sarah O’Leary ( Foxrock Cabinteely), 12: Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely) Capt, 13: Laura Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), 14: Sophie O’Hara (Round Towers Lusk), 15: Eimear Griffin (Castleknock).

Dublin Substitutes:

Katie McNally for O’Hara, Roisin McGovern for Quinn, Megan Colman for Griffin, Katie Wisdom for O’Driscoll

Meath Minor Team:

1: Emily Jo White (Oldcastle), 2: Saoirse O’Kane (Ratoath), 3: Mary Kate Lynch (Summerhill), 4: Orla Smith (Oldcastle), 5: Sarah Wall ( Dunboyne), 6: Kate McCarthy (Walterstown), 7: Aoife Farrell (Simonstown), 8: Orlagh Lally (Clann Na Gael), 9: Petra Reilly (Royal Gaels), 10: Olivia Gore (Rathkenny), 11: Emma Duggan (Dunboyne), 12: Seona Lynch (St Michaels), 13: Meadhbh Byrne (Royal Gaels), 14: Sorcha Gough (Seneschalstown), 15: Megan Peters (Kilbride)

Meath Substitutes:

Leah Devine for Reilly, Caragh Monaghan for Smith, Leah Dennehy for S Lynch, Susie O’Rourke for Gough

Sin Bin: Orlagh Lally, Meath (54”)

Referee: Cathy Forde (Wicklow)