Ladies Football

Eight Changes To Dublin Ladies Team For NFL Game Against Monaghan

By March 15, 2019 No Comments


Dublin Captain Sinead Aherne Among The Eight Changes To The Dublin Senior Ladies Football Team


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1

Dublin v Monaghan

Saturday 16th of March

Venue: DCU (St Clare’s)

Throw-In: 5pm

Referee: S McNulty, Wicklow


Dublin manager Mick Bohan has made eight changes and a number of positional switches to his side as they chase their fourth Lidl NFL win in a row against Monaghan tomorrow in DCU.

Kilmacud Croke’s Rachel Fleming gets her second league start in goal in place of Ciara Trant.

Among the eight changes is a number of changes to the Dublin defence – Emma McDonagh, Niamh Collins and Aoife Kane are replaced by Martha Byrne who missed the game against Westmeath and starts at number 2.

With Niamh Collins dropping to the bench the ever versatile Olwen Carey switches from midfield to the fullback position.

Rachel Ruddy switches corners to play in the number 4 jersey and Sinead Goldrick starts her first game of the year in her familiar half-back position having come on as a half time substitute against Westmeath after an injury layoff.

Siobhan McGrath was rested for the last game and comes straight back into the side in the middle of the park to form a formidable midfield with Jennifer Dunne.

It’s all change to the front six as well from the team that started against Westmeath with Nicole Owens, Carla Rowe, Kate Sullivan, Eabha Rutledge and Oonagh Whyte dropping to the bench.

Lyndsey Davey and Hannah O’Neill comeback into the side to form a potent half forward line with Niamh Hetherton who is making her full senior league debut after three substitute appearances against Westmeath, Tipperary and Donegal.

Siobhan Killeen’s impressive performances to date in the Dublin full-forward line sees her retain her place, she is joined by Noelle Healy who started her first competitive game of 2019 the last day out against Westmeath and Dublin Captain Sinead Aherne who is making her first starting appearance of the year after two second half sub appearances in the last two games.

Another name of note is Sinead Finnegan who is named in the panel for the first time this season.

Dublin are aiming to make it four league wins in a row, Monaghan travel to the Capital tomorrow surely low on confidence rooted to the bottom of the table after four straight defeats which included two heavy losses in their last two games to Donegal by 2-17 to 0-07 and Cork by 5-17 to 1-04.

Dublin will be favorites to take the league points on offer tomorrow particularly with home advantage, but Mick Bohan’s side wont take the challenge of a Monaghan side with nothing to lose lightly but should see this one home with a couple of points to spare.


Dublin Starting Team:


1. Rachel Fleming

Kilmacud Crokes


2. Martha Byrne



3. Olwen Carey

Thomas Davis


4. Rachel Ruddy

Ballyboden St Endas


5. Sinead Goldrick

Foxrock Cabinteely


6. Lauren Magee

Kilmacud Crokes


7. Sarah Fagan



8. Jennifer Dunne



9. Siobhan McGrath

Thomas Davis


10. Hannah O’Neill

Foxrock Cabinteely


11. Lyndsey Davey

Skerries Harps


12. Niamh Hetherton



13. Sinead Aherne (Capt)

St Sylvesters


14. Siobhan Killeen



15. Noelle Healy

Mourneabbey (Cork)


Headshots of the Dublin Senior Ladies Football team that was named with eight changes for their game against Monaghan


Dublin Substitutes:


16. Ciara Trant

St Brigids


17. Kate Sullivan

St Sylvesters


18. Carla Rowe

Clann Mhuire


19. Nicole Owens

St Sylvesters


20. Ciara McGuigan

Thomas Davis


21. Niamh McEvoy

St Sylvesters


22. Orlagh Nolan

Ballinteer St Johns


23. Oonagh Whyte

Clann Mhuire


24. Ciara Ruddy

Ballyboden St Endas


25. Eve Kehoe

Skerries Harps


26. Kate Fitzgibbon



27. Lucy Collins

Na Fianna


28. Siobhan Woods



29. Sinead Finnegan



30. Niamh Collins

Foxrock Cabinteely


Management Team:


Manager: Mick Bohan (Clontarf)

Mentors: Ken Robinson (Lucan Sarsfields), Sorcha Farrelly (Ballyboden St Endas), Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Paul Gilheaney (St Vincents)

FLO: Kathleen Colreavy (Naomh Mearnog)

Physio: Anita O’Brien


Monaghan Team:


1. Grainne McKenna



2. Niamh Kerr

O’Neill Shamrocks


3. Sarah Boyd



4. Hannah McSkane

O’Neill Shamrocks


5. Aoife McAnespie



6. Rosemary Courtney



7. Abbie McCarey



8. Shauna Coyle



9. Eimear McAnespie



10. Chloe McBride

Emmet Óg


11. Leanne Maguire



12. Eva Woods



13. Cora Courtney (Capt)



14. Muireann Atkinson

O’Neill Shamrocks


15. Ciara McAnespie



Monaghan Substitutes:


16. Alanna McCarey



17. Casey Treanor



18. Eadaoin Treanor

Truagh Gaels


19. Lisa Flynn



20. Rebecca Hughes

Éire Óg


21. Rachel McConnell



22. Brionan McAleer



23. Brídín Tierney



24. Amy Hamill



25. Noeleen McGuirk



26. Nicole Rooney

Éire Óg


Management Team:


Manager: Niall Treanor (Truagh)

Mentors: Ciaran Murphy (Sean McDermott), Adam Treanor (Aghabog), Angela McKenna (Tyholland)

Physio: Mark Dockery

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :