Dublin will face Cavan, Tipperary and Mayo in Group A of the All Ireland Senior Championship

Dublin’s Jennifer Dunne pictured with the All Ireland Cup, Dublin begin their campaign in Championship Group A alongside Cavan, Tipperary and Mayo.
Jennifer Dunne of Dublin poses for a portrait with the Brendan Martin cup at the Knowth megalithic passage-tomb site in County Meath. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Leinster champions Dublin have been placed in Group A of the TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship after their win over Meath in Croke Park last weekend.

Alongside Dublin in the Group are Cavan, Tipperary and Mayo as the race for the Brendan Martin Cup begins in earnest.

Dublin will begin their quest for a fifth All Ireland Senior title in six years with a home fixture against Cavan on Saturday week.

That will be followed by an away trip to face Tipperary on the 19th of July and Dublin’s final group game will be against Mayo on the 25th of June, which will be broadcast live on TG4 and will be played at a neutral venue.

The details on venues, throw-in times and ticket details for all group games are due to be released by the LGFA shortly.

The top two teams from Group A will progress to the All Ireland quarter finals with the Group A winners playing the runners up in Group D and the runner up from Group A playing the top placed team from Group D.

Group D consists of three teams Cork, Donegal and Waterford.

If Dublin and Mayo were to win their opening two group games against Cavan and Tipperary both teams will have already qualified for the quarter final stages and the result of their meeting in the final group game will decide who finishes group winners and who finishes runners-up, which ultimately decides each teams quarter final opponents from Group D.

But Cavan and Tipperary are not just there to make up the numbers and wins for Dublin and Mayo over both teams are not a forgone conclusion and although both sides will be seen as the underdogs in the Group they are capable of pulling off a shock result if either of the favorites to come out of the group have an off day.

All games not shown on TG4 will be streamed by LGFA, details of how to register are below.