Dublin U16 Ladies Football team named for tonight’s All Ireland Final


The current Dublin U16 Ladies Football squad are looking to bridge a 12 year gap to the counties last All Ireland success at the U16 grade

Dublin U16 Ladies Football Squad pictured before their All Ireland semi final win over Roscommon
Dublin U16 Ladies Football Squad. Image Credit: Lorraine O’Sullivan

Dublin manager Fintan Keeling has named his team for tonight’s All Ireland U16 final clash with Munster champions Cork in Cahir GAA Club, in Tipperary at 7.30pm.

The rivalry has built up over the years between Dublin and Cork at all grades and the meeting this evening will be add another chapter to this fascinating and entertaining rivalry.

Dublin who enjoyed a convincing win over Roscommon in the semi final are looking to bridge 12 year gap to the counties last All Ireland U16 triumph.

Since their last title win Dublin U16 teams have contested four finals in 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2016 and this latest crop of talent from the capital will be hoping to finally land the big one again.

But standing in their way will be their old foes Cork who, although had a tougher time in their semi final against Cavan eventually over coming the Ulster champions by a point, will be formidable opponents this evening and games between these two great rivals always tend to be tense tight affairs.

A number of current Senior Dublin players were on the last U16 team to claim the All Ireland title at this grade in 2010, including Ciara Trant, Leah Caffrey and Carla Rowe and who knows a number of the current U16 squad could follow the same path to the Dublin senior squad as former U16 All Ireland winners.

From all here at We Are Dublin GAA we wish Dublin Captain Aoife Robertson and all the squad and management the very best of luck in Cahir this evening.


Dublin U16 Starting Team


1. Siobhán Cassidy-Fagan (Naomh Barróg)

2. Lucy Ahern (Na Fianna)

3. Ellen Leddy Doyle (Clontarf)

4. Ellie Doyle (St Sylvesters)

5. Elsa Kearney (O’Dwyers)

6. Eimear Kehoe (St Judes)

7. Ellen Joyce (Fingallians)

8. Joy Ralph (Ballyboden St Endas)

9. Naoise Koppel (Na Fianna)

10. Rachael Hargan (Na Fianna)

11. Alex Smyth (Ballyboughal)

12. Lily-May Conaty (Clontarf)

13. Karrie Rudden (Ballyboden St Endas)

14. Aoife Robertson (C) (Round Tower Clondalkin)

15. Tessa Lambe (St Vincents)


Dublin Substitutes


16. Katie Moran Tighe (Ballinteer St Johns)

17. Siobhan Birnie (Lucan Sarsfields)

18. Aisling Moran (Kilmacud Crokes)

19. Alex Falvey (St Judes)

20. Kate O’Toole (St Sylvesters)

21. Rebecca Nolan (Round Tower Clondalkin)

22. Alison Garvey (Clontarf)

23. Anna Marie Durkan (St Judes)

24. Emma Moran (Ballyboden St Endas)

25. Izzy Dowling (Clanna Gael Fontenoy)

26. Sophia O’Brien (Na Fianna)

27. Zoe Donnelly (St Sylvesters)

28. Líadan Murphy (Kilmacud Crokes)

29. Maedbh le Roux (Cuala)

30. Maeve Moran (Clontarf)


Additional Panel Members


Aimee Dundon (Clontarf), Emily-Jane O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), Suzie Linkiewicz (Ballymun Kickhams), Áine Bresnan (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh), Ava Canty (Fingallians), Grace Prenter (Kilmacud Crokes).