Dublin Team Named For TG4 All Ireland Quarter Final


Manager Mick Bohan makes six changes to his side for their meeting on Sunday with Donegal in the TG4 All Ireland quarter final

The Dublin squad who will face Donegal this Sunday in the TG4 All Ireland quarter final.
The Dublin squad who will face Donegal this Sunday in the TG4 All Ireland quarter final. Image Credit: Maurice Grehan.

The Dublin team to face Donegal on Sunday in Ballybofey at 2pm in the TG4 All Ireland quarter final has been announced.

Dublin’s management have made six changes to the starting fifteen that defeated Cavan the last day out with Leah Caffrey, Martha Byrne, Aoife Kane, Caoimhe O’Connor, Jodi Egan and Orlagh Nolan all coming into the side.

Making way are Grainne Fitzsimons, Faye O’Connell Bell, Niamh Hetherton, Annabelle Timothy, Dannielle Lawless and Sinéad Wylde.

Dublin manager Mick Bohan will be happy that he has a stronger hand to pick for what will be a difficult trip northwest on Sunday. After a bruising encounter with Kerry in the opening group game the returnees to the starting 15 for this weekend were carrying knocks the last day and were rested against Cavan.

Their return strengthens the starting team against a rejuvenated Donegal side who have, after a disastrous Lidl National Football League campaign whereby they failed to register a single win, have rediscovered their form.

After their poor league campaign there were few if any who would have envisaged Donegal reaching the knockout stages, but a rousing Ulster championship campaign which seen Maxi Curran’s side pulling off a shock win over Armagh in the provincial decider has proven to be a serious confidence booster to a Donegal side that went on to beat both Waterford and Meath in the group stages and are now seen as serious All Ireland contenders.

Dublin and Donegal met at the same stage of the competition last season with Dublin exiting the championship at the quarter final stage for the first time since 2012 with Donegal enjoying a 3-07 to 1-07 win.

The Dubs garnered some revenge earlier this year in the Lidl NFL with a comfortable win away to Donegal by 2-13 to 0-06. However that result will have no impact as a barometer of the likely outcome of this Sunday’s game as both teams have developed significantly since their league meeting in April.

There is plenty at stake for both sides on Sunday with the prize for the winner an All Ireland semi-final meeting with either Cork or Armagh in Semple Stadium on the 29th of July.

Match official, Garryowen McMahon from Mayo will get proceedings underway at 2pm and supporters who can’t make the trek to Ballybofey on Sunday can watch the game live on TG4. Tickets also remain on sale for the game from www.universe.com

Dublin: 1. Abby Sheils (Lucan Sarsfields); 2. Niamh Crowley (Fingallians), 3. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 4. Niamh Donlon (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh); 5. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), 6. Martha Byrne (Cuala), 7. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes); 8. Eilish O’Dowd (Na Fianna), 9. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala); 10. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), 11. Carla Rowe (C) (Clann Mhuire), 12. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely); 13. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna), 14. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), 15. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Emer Ní Eafa (Fingallians ), 17. Chloe Darby (Parnells), 18. Annabelle Timothy (St Finians Swords), 19. Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), 20. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), 21. Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), 22. Ellen Gribben (St Brigids), 23. Sinéad Wylde (Cuala), 24. Emma Deeley (Na Fianna), 25. Gráinne Fitzsimons (Cuala), 26. Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), 27. Sinéad Daly (Lucan Sarsfields), 28. Sinéad Aherne (St Sylvesters).