Dublin team named for opening round of the TG4 Leinster Senior championship


The TG4 Leinster Senior championship returns for the first time since 2019

A Westmeath and Dublin player battle for the ball during the 2019 TG4 Leinster Senior final

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named his team for this weekends opening round of the 2022 TG4 Leinster Senior championship.

The TG4 Leinster Senior championship returns to the fixtures calendar for the first time since 2019.

There were just two teams at senior grade in the 2019 Leinster championship campaign, Dublin and ironically their opponents in tomorrow’s opening round Westmeath, with Dublin claiming victory in the 2019 Leinster final.

Westmeath lost their senior status at the end of the 2019 All Ireland series which left Dublin as the only senior side in the province and therefore no championship took place.

Since then both Westmeath and Meath have returned to the senior grade, but due to the covid restrictions in 2021 no competition was organised.

Bohan has named eight players in tomorrow’s starting lineup who began last September’s TG4 All Ireland final against Meath.

Ciara Trant, Leah Caffrey, Sinead Goldrick, Orlagh Nolan, Jennifer Dunne, Lauren Magee who has returned from a season playing for Melbourne in the AFLW, Hannah Tyrrell, and Carla Rowe who will share the captaincy for the 2022 championship season with Niamh Collins.

Another returning from a stint down-under and teammate of Magee at Melbourne, Sinead Goldrick also returns to the Dublin starting team.

The Dublin bench has a star studded look to it with the likes of Martha Byrne, Niamh Collins, Lyndsey Davey, Niamh Hetherton, Kate Sullivan, Siobhan Killeen and Kate McDaid who impressed during Dublin’s league campaign all ready to be sprung into action as Dublin look to secure their 16th Leinster Senior title.

Former Captain Sinead Aherne will miss tomorrow’s game as she is nursing a slight knock picked up in training midweek.

With three teams involved at senior grade, Dublin, Meath and Westmeath, the 2022 Leinster Senior championship will involve a round robin series of games with the top two teams contesting the Leinster final.

All Ireland Senior and Division 1 league champions Meath will be keen observers of the outcome of tomorrow’s encounter particularly as they will open their campaign next weekend in Parnell Park against Dublin.

The action will get underway in TEG Cusack Park tomorrow at 1:30pm and we will have LIVE UPDATES of all the action as it happens over on our Twitter feed @wearedub

Tomorrow’s game is an all ticket affair and admission is €10, students €5 and under 16’s free of charge, tickets are available on sale now from https://bit.ly/3vNHIXJ


Dublin Starting 15


1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Jessica Tobin (Cuala)

3. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

4. Tammy Quinn Corbally (Thomas Davis)

5. Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely)

6. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

7. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

9. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

10. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

11. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

12. Nicole Owens (St Sylvesters)

13. Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala)

14. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna)

15. Sinead Wylde (Cuala)


Dublin Substitutes


16. Abby Sheils (Lucan Sarsfields)

17. Kate McDaid (Kilmacud Crokes)

18. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

19. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

20. Ellen Gribben (St Brigids)

21. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

22. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

23. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters)

24. Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St Endas)

25. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely)

26. Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf)

27. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

28. Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines)

29. Rachel Hartnett (Cuala)

30. Katelyn O’Brien (Ballyboughal).