Dublin Team Named For 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final


In what is a repeat of last years decider, Dublin and Meath will battle it out on Sunday in the 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final

Dublin and Meath Captains pictured holding the Leinster Cup ahead of their meeting in the 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final
Dublin and Meath captains Rowe (L), Ennis (R) with the Mary Ramsbottom Cup ahead of the 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final. Photo Credit: Sportsfile

Reigning champions Dublin will face off against Meath this Sunday in Laois Hire O’Moore Park in the 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final.

The game forms part of a triple header of ladies football action with the 2023 Leinster Junior and Intermediate finals also taking place in the Portlaoise venue with the Senior final throwing in at 4.15pm.

The Dublin management have made four changes to the starting line-up which began the championship round robin game against Laois three weeks on May the 7th.

Coming into the starting lineup are Ellen Gribben, Jennifer Dunne, Lauren Magee and Kate Sullivan with Faye O’Connell Bell, Emma Strappe, Orla Martin and Sinéad Wylde making way.

Both sides contested last years final, historically the first ever ladies Leinster final to be played in Croke Park with Dublin coming out on top by 1-07 to 1-05 thanks to a second half converted penalty by Hannah Tyrrell.

Dublin head into this weekends final though with a much changed and inexperienced team to last years set-up.

Experienced players of the calibre of Ciara Trant, Sinead Goldrick, Lyndsey Davey, Nicole Owens, Niamh Collins, Kate McDaid, Siobhan Killeen and Sinead Aherne are unavailable this season for selection for various reasons.

This Sunday eleven members of Dublin’s match day squad will be experiencing their first Leinster final, but the new look squad have impressed during the Leinster championship to date securing a hard fought win over Meath in Navan in round one 1-06 to 0-07 and they followed it up with a comprehensive victory over Laois the last day out with the final score 3-14 to 0-03.

Sundays final should be another titanic battle between Dublin and Meath and if encounters between the sides over the last couple of seasons are anything to go by there won’t be more than a kick of the ball between the sides when the final whistle is blown on the 2023 TG4 Leinster Senior Football Final.

Tickets remain on sale for Sundays Leinster triple bill in Portlaoise with Dublin and Meath sharing the stage alongside Kildare and Wexford (Intermediate final 2pm) and Carlow and Kilkenny (Junior final 12 noon).

Tickets can be purchased from this link https://t.co/bSnh6hJMvk

Please note children under 16 years of age are free of charge and do not require a match ticket additionally please be aware stand seats are unreserved.

Dublin fans will be aware that the women’s provincial final is clashing with the GAA double bill in Croke Park. Leinster LGFA are live streaming Dublin v Meath on the LGFA Inplayer portal which can be accessed via this link https://bit.ly/431b2cC

There is a service fee of €5, a play back feature is available for those wishing to view the game at a later stage.

Dublin: 1. Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Niamh Crowley (Fingallians), 3. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 4. Martha Byrne (Cuala), 5. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), 6. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes), 7. Ellen Gribben (St Brigids), 8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), 9. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), 10. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), 11. Caitlyn Coffey (Castleknock), 12. Eilish O’Dowd (Na Fianna), 13. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna), 14. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), 15. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Emer Ni Eafa (Fingallians), 17. Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), 18. Grainne Fitzsimons (Cuala), 19. Niamh Donlon (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh), 20. Emma Strappe (Castleknock), 21. Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), 22. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), 23. Orla Martin (Na Fianna), 24. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), 25. Chloe Darby (Parnells), 26. Sinéad Wylde (Cuala), 27. Tammy Quinn Corbally (Thomas Davis), 28. Annabelle Timothy (St Finians Swords), 29. Emma Deeley (Na Fianna), 30. Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), Additional Panellists: Kerri Owens (Thomas Davis), Julie Vaughan (Ballyboden St Endas), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Sinead Daly (Lucan Sarsfields).