Dublin Team Announcement: Caffrey, McGinley, McCaffrey And McDonnell Return To Team


Dublin Manager Mick Bohan Welcomes Back Leah Caffrey, Laura McGinley, Sarah McCaffrey and Rebecca McDonnell To His Squad

Dublin Ladies footballers Leah Caffrey, Laura McGinley, Sarah McCaffrey and Rebecca McDonnell have returned to the Dublin panel and have been named to start Dublin’s opening league game against Tipperary


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 Round 1

Dublin v Tipperary

Sunday January 26th

Venue: Pairc Uí Mhurchú

Throw-In: 2pm

Referee: Jonathan Murphy (Carlow)

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named his first team of the new season and he gives starts to returning quartet Leah Caffrey, Laura McGinley, Sarah McCaffrey and Rebecca McDonnell.

Dublin get their 2020 Lidl Ladies National Football League underway today against Tipperary in Pairc Uí Mhurchú the home of Ballyboden St Endas.

Leah Caffrey, Laura McGinley and Sarah McCaffrey took time out from Inter-County action to travel overseas, while Rebecca McDonnell missed last season due to a serious knee injury.

McDonnell did return to club action last season and her performances for her club Clanna Gael Fontenoy caught the eye as she played a pivotal role helping her side to the Dublin Intermediate club championship title.

There are just six players who started last season All Ireland final named in the team for today’s game. Bohan has a number of players unavailable for selection at the minute.

Sinead Aherne, Noelle Healy and Lyndsey Davey are three noticeable absentees from the forward unit, while Nicole Owens, Siobhan Killeen and Dee Murphy are working their way back from serious injuries picked up last season.

Bohan is also short of Sinead Goldrick and Niamh McEvoy who are both in Australia playing for Melbourne Football Club and won’t return to Ireland until around the end of April.

That gives an opportunity for Mick Bohan to look at some new faces in his squad and he has handed National football league debuts to Laura Kane and Niamh Sweeney in the Dublin attack.

There are also a number of the 2019 Dublin minor squad on the bench today and they will be looking to make their mark at senior level during the league campaign.

Similarly Tipperary manager Shane Ronayne has named 10 of the side that captured the All Ireland Intermediate role in 2019.

Although missing the talents of Aisling McCarthy and Orla O’Dwyer who are in Australia and the injured Anna Rose Kennedy the Premier County still have plenty of top quality individual talent in their ranks including captain Samantha Lambert, Aishling Maloney, Caoimhe Condon and Roisin Daly to name a few and Tipperary will provide a stern test for Dublin today.

The referee in charge of today’s game is Jonathan Murphy from Carlow and the game will be streamed LIVE on the LGFA Facebook page with coverage commencing at 1.45pm.


1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

3. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

4. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

5. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

6. Muireann Ni Scanaill (Fingallians)

7. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

9. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

10. Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

11. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

12. Sarah McCaffrey (Clontarf)

13. Oonagh Whyte (Clann Mhuire)

14. Niamh Sweeney (Ballinteer St Johns)

15. Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy).

Dublin Substitutes:

16. Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna)

17. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

18. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters)

19. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

20. Cassie Sultan (Kilmacud Crokes)

21. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely)

22. Grace Kos (Kilmacud Crokes)

23. Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely)

24. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

25. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

26. Amy Conroy (Kilmacud Crokes)

27. Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis)


1. Lauren Fitzpatrick (Ballymacarbry)

2. Lucy Spillane (Fethard)

3. Maria Curley (Templemore)

4. Emma Cronin (Moyle Rovers)

5. Brid Condon (Aherlow)

6. Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan)

7. Caitlin Kennedy (Aherlow)

8. Orla Winston (Clonmel Commercials)

9. Roisin Daly (Moyne Templetuohy)

10. Ava Fennessy (Clonmel Commercials)

11. Aishling Moloney (Cahir)

12. Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan)

13. Caoimhe Condon (Brian Borus)

14. Emma Morrissey (Aherlow)

15. Niamh Hayes (Fethard)

Tipperary Substitutes:

16. Rachel Sweeney (Holycross)

17. Kate Davey (Fethard)

18. Katie Cunningham (Lattin Cullen)

19. Ellen Moore (Moyne Templetuohy)

20. Anna Carey (Clonmel Commercials)

21. Rosanna Kiely (Cahir)

22. Aine Delaney (Templemore)

23. Marie Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields)

24. Emer McCarthy (Galtee Rovers)

25. Carrie Davey (Fethard)

26. Muireann Lloyd (Moyne Templetuohy)

27. Megan Heffernan (Galtee Rovers)

28. Angela McGuigan (Sliabh Na mBan)