Dublin team announced for TG4 All Ireland quarter final


Mick Bohan names unchanged team for All Ireland quarter final clash with Donegal

A Dublin and Donegal Ladies footballer in action during last years Championship, both teams meet again in the TG4 All Ireland quarter final this Monday.
Dublin’s Leah Caffrey and Donegal’s Geraldine McLaughlin in action during the 2020 TG4 Senior All Ireland Championship. Image Credit: Sportsfile

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named an unchanged team for the TG4 All Ireland quarter final meeting with Donegal this coming Bank Holiday Monday.

Both Siobhan Killeen and Niamh Hetherton were introduced at half-time the last day out against Waterford and both players made an impact from the bench scoring 1-01 each to help Dublin into the quarter finals.

But both Killeen and Hetherton have been held in reserve and are named amongst the Dublin substitutes for Monday’s meeting with Donegal.

Defending champions Dublin head into the TG4 All Ireland quarter final unbeaten having recorded wins over Tyrone and Waterford scoring 8-30 over the two games.

Their opponents Donegal lost their opening group game to Galway by 3-10 to 1-11, Maxi Curran’s side looked to be in control of the game at half-time leading by 1-06 to 0-04. But the game was turned on it’s head after the restart as Galway scored a blistering three goals in a two minute spell to wrestle control of the game and secure the win.

That set up a winner takes all match last weekend against a resolute Kerry side who made Donegal fight all the way for the win with Curran’s securing a 2-13 to 2-09 victory and their place in the quarter final.

Both teams met in the group stages of last year’s championship and Donegal pushed Dublin all the way with Mick Bohan’s side eventually coming out on top by 2-13 to 2-10.

Another tight battle will be expected on Bank Holiday Monday, Donegal’s Geraldine McLaughlin is one of the top forwards in the game and has amassed 1-15 to her name in their two outings to date.

McLaughlin though is not the only scoring threat that Donegal possess, given time and space Karen Guthrie, Niamh McLoughlin, Niamh Hegarty can all cause serious damage on the scoreboard.

Midfielder Katy Herron has also impressed this season and broke forward from the middle of the park with great success scoring 2-01 in the previous two games.

Dublin’s Firepower

Dublin though have plenty of firepower of their own, no fewer than 12 players have registered scores in their games to date.

The scoring dozen are Hannah Tyrell 0-10 (6f), Siobhan Killeen 2-03, Caoimhe O’Connor 2-02, Jennifer Dunne 2-01, Carla Rowe 1-01, Niamh Hetherton 1-01, Sinead Aherne 0-04 (3f), Niamh McEvoy 0-03, Orlagh Nolan 0-02, Lucy Collins 0-01, Lyndsey Davey 0-01 and Lauren Magee 0-01.

Impressively 8-21 out of Dublin’s championship scoring tally to date of 8-30 has come from play. Dublin also have a good spread of scorers with half-backs, midfielders and forwards all capable of finding the target.

The action gets underway in Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada in Carrick-On-Shannon on Monday at 4pm and the game can be viewed LIVE on TG4 and on tg4.ie

The winners of Monday’s game will play either Galway or Mayo in the TG4 All Ireland semi-final on Saturday the 14th of August.

We Are Dublin GAA will have LIVE score updates from throw-in on Monday over on our Twitter feed @wearedub with half-time and full-time updates over on our Facebook and Instagram feeds.


1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

3. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

4. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

5. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

6. Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis)

7. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

9. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

10. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

11. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvesters)

12. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

13. Sinead Aherne (C) (St Sylvesters)

14. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna)

15. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf).

Dublin Substitutes

16. Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields)

17. Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf)

18. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

19. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters)

20. Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill)

21. Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely)

22. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

23. Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes)

24. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

25. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

26. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

27. Sarah Fagan (Clontarf)

28. Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

29. Rachel Hartnett (Cuala)

30. Michelle Davoren (Kilmacud Crokes).