Dublin Senior Ladies Football Team Announced For Saturday’s Lidl Ladies National Football League meeting between Dublin and Cork In Croke Park
Dublin Senior Ladies Football Team Announced For Saturday’s Lidl Ladies National Football League meeting between Dublin and Cork In Croke Park


LIDL National Football League Division 1

Dublin v Cork

Saturday February 10th, 2018

Venue: Croke Park

Throw-In: 5pm

Referee: Gavin Corrigan


The meeting of the Dublin Senior Ladies and Cork always generates high interest amongst Gaelic football fans owing to the keen rivalry that has been built up over the years between these two Counties.

This weekend, both sides will get the opportunity to showcase their talents on the hallowed turf of Croke Park a little earlier in the season than the norm as the women get to share the Jones Road stage with the men of Dublin and Donegal as part of a NFL double bill (throw in time 7pm).

Since Mick Bohan took over the Dublin managerial reigns he has encountered Cork on just two occasions with Ephie Fitzgerald’s side coming out on top in both clashes.

Dublin travelled to Mallow for their division one group game last February only to come away disappointed losing to Cork by 2-11 to 1-08. Lyndsey Davey bagged the Dubs only goal of the game that day while Orla Finn and Niamh Cotter (penalty) were both on target for the Rebel County.

Six points would be the winning margin again when the two teams met later on in the season at the semi-final stage of the NFL. Once again, Cork held the upper hand on their capital counterparts running out winners on a scoreline of 1-16 to 0-13.

Cork went on to defeat Donegal in the 2017 league final and in doing so claim their 5th NFL title in a row. Remarkably Dublin have never won a division one league title having only appeared in one final which was back in 2014 and of course their opponents and conquerors on that day where Cork!

To date both teams have enjoyed two wins from two in the 2018 league campaign. Cork overcame the challenge of Kerry and Monaghan while Dublin defeated both Donegal and Westmeath in their opening two fixtures.

So the stage is set for what should be an enthralling game between the reigning NFL champions and current All Ireland champions.

Dublin have named an experienced side for their latest clash with Cork. In total, eleven of the team who defeated Mayo in last Septembers All Ireland final are listed to start on Saturday evening.

Missing from the line out are Rachel Ruddy, Sinead Finnegan, Nicole Owens and Niamh McEvoy. McEvoy is however listed amongst the replacements on the Dublin bench.

Mick Bohan has made five changes to the Dublin starting 15 from that which lined out versus Westmeath last Sunday. Into the starting line-up comes, Martha Byrne, Leah Caffrey, Niamh Collins, Lauren Magee and Noelle Healy, incidentally all of whom finished the game in Mullingar having been introduced during the course of the game.

Moving to the bench are Laura McGinley, Kate Fitzgibbon, Lucy Collins, Aoife Kane and Rebecca McDonnell.

Throw in time in Croke Park is 5pm, Gavin Corrigan from County Down is the match official. The game is available to view live on eir sport 1 from 4.45pm followed by the meeting of Dublin and Donegal at 7pm.


Dublin Starting Team:


1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

3. Katie Murray (Clontarf)

4. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

5. Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely)

6. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

7. Muireann Ní Scanaill (Fingallians)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

9. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

10. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

11. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

12. Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Sinead Aherne (St Sylvesters)

14. Noelle Healy (St Brigids)

15. Oonagh Whyte (Clann Mhuire)


Dublin Replacements:


16. Heather Smith (Garda / Westmanstown Gaels)

17. Emily Flanagan (Ballyboden St Endas)

18. Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely)

19. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvesters)

20. Maria McGrath (Ballyboden St Endas)

21. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

22. Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy)

23. Deirdre Murphy (St Brigids)

24. Sinead O’Mahoney (Skerries Harps)

25. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

26. Kate Fitzgibbon (O’Tooles)

27. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

28. Danielle Lawless (St Sylvesters)

29. Ciara Lynch (St Sylvesters)

30. Julia Buckley (Kilmacud Crokes).