Donegal Ladies footballer in a yellow jersey with green sleeves and a Dublin Senior Ladies Football player in a sky blue jersey stand at a table with the league trophy


LIDL National Football League Division 1, Round 1,

Dublin v Donegal

Saturday 2nd of February 2019

Venue: Croke Park

Throw-In: 5pm


Manager Mick Bohan has named his Dublin Senior Ladies Football starting 15 for their opening Lidl National Football League game against Donegal in Croke Park tomorrow evening.

Bohan has named eight members of his starting 15 who began last years All Ireland final against Cork.

Absent from the side are Sinead Finnegan, Leah Caffrey, Sinead Goldrick, Noelle Healy and Sinead Aherne while Lauren Magee and Lyndsey Davey are named amongst the Dublin replacements for Saturday’s clash with the Ulster champions.

Coming into the Dublin Senior Ladies starting line-up are, Emma McDonagh, Aoife Kane, Sarah Fagan, Jennifer Dunne, Kate Fitzgibbon, Eabha Rutledge and Siobhan Woods.

2018, Dublin minor Captain Sarah Fagan is being handed her senior debut this weekend and is a player who has been earmarked as “one to watch” for a long time by many people in Dublin LGFA circles. Fagan was a key member of the Clontarf team who captured the club Intermediate All Ireland title last December.

Five other members of last year’s minor team, Kate Sullivan, Hannah Leahy, Niamh Hetherton, Caoimhe O’Connor and Eimear Loughlin are also listed amongst the Dublin replacements. This is an indication of the huge amount of hard work that is being carried out at underage level in the Capital over the last number of years.

Also included in the Dublin replacements is 2017 All Star, Rachel Ruddy who returns to the Inter County set up having taken a year out last season to travel abroad.

Another addition to the panel is former Irish soccer International and UCD Waves (now known as DLR Waves) footballer, Orlagh Nolan.

Dublin goalkeeper Ciara Trant will captain the side on Saturday in the absence of skipper, Sinead Aherne.

Under Mick Bohan Dublin have held the upper hand over Donegal recording two victories from their two previous games.

In an absorbing contest in 2017 with the sides producing a scoring total of 5-24, goals from Lyndsey Davey and Carla Rowe helped Dublin come out on top by a scoreline of 2-17 to 3-07.

Last season the Dublin Senior Ladies football squad travelled to Letterkenny to face their rivals from the northwest in round 1 of the league and in dreadful weather conditions again goals were the difference with Niamh McEvoy and Rebecca McDonnell raising green flags as Dublin once again prevailed by 2-05 to 0-07.

Games between All Ireland champions Dublin and Ulster champions Donegal are normally tense, tough and engrossing affairs and this Saturday’s encounter in Croke Park should be no different.

Although this is Donegal’s first appearance in Croke Park since winning the Intermediate All Ireland title in 2010 they are an experienced outfit and talented players like Karen Guthrie, Niamh and Ciara Hegarty and marauding forward Geraldine McLaughlin will relish the chance of putting one over a Dublin Senior Ladies Football side missing a number of their All Ireland winning team.


Dublin Senior Ladies Football Team:


1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

3. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

4. Emma McDonagh (Foxrock Cabinteely)

5. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

6. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

7. Sarah Fagan (Clontarf)

8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

9. Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis)

10. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

11. Kate Fitzgibbon (Clontarf)

12. Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

14. Nicole Owens (St Sylvester’s)

15. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvesters).



Dublin Substitutes:


16. Rachel Fleming (Kilmacud Crokes)

17. Rachel Ruddy (Ballyboden St Endas)

18. Siobhan Killeen (Clontarf)

19. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvester’s)

20. Laura Carolan (Castleknock)

21. Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis)

22. Eve Keogh (Skerries Harps)

23. Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill)

24. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

25. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

26. Lucy Collins (Na Fianna)

27. Eimear Loughlin (Cuala)

28. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

29. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

30. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)