Dublin Minor Ladies Football Team Celebrate With The Trophy On The Pitch After Retaining Their Leinster Championship Title

Dublin 2-13

Meath 2-05

Dublin retained their Minor Leinster Championship title this afternoon in Kinnegad following an 8 point victory over Meath.

Meath aided by a strong wind at their backs began the match well and were showing no sign of nerves as they took the game to Dublin.

Their spirited play was rewarded in the 8th minute of the first half when corner forward Tara Berigan was on target for the games opening goal. Meath lead the game by 1-01 to 0-01.

Dublin’s Hannah Leahy With Her Player Of The Match Trophy Alongside The Leinster County Chairman And Dublin Captain Sarah Fagan Who Is Holding The Leinster Trophy

Dublin responded with a Kate Sullivan free which was soon followed by a well-taken goal from St Maurs, Laura Carthy.

By the 15th minute, Dublin had found their composure and were now leading the game and would continue to do so up until the final whistle.

At the interval, seven points separated the two sides, with the halftime score Dublin 1-09 and Meath 1-02.

On the resumption, it was once again the Royal County who settled quickly with a Berigan point. Dublin followed this Meath score with two points of their own, a Sarah Fagan (free) and a well taken point from Laura Carthy.

The decisive score of the second half came in the 45th minute when Dublin full forward Caoimhe O’Connor finished a well worked Dublin move with a rasping shot to the back of the Meath net.

Dublin’s Caoimhe O’Connor In A Sky Blue Jersey Heads For Goal During The Leinster Final

With 11 points separating the two sides Meath to their credit continued to battle away and were rewarded for their endeavours with a penalty in the 55th minute which was duly dispatched expertly by Lauryn Grier.

The penalty was a mere consolation score for Meath as Dublin held on to claim their 8th Leinster minor title in a row.

Dublin can now look forward to an All Ireland semi-final with the winners of the Munster championship on June 30th.

A Dublin Ladies Footballer In A Sky Blue Jersey Battles With A Meath Player In A Green Jersey With Gold Stripes

Dublin Team:

Aine Ryan (Naomh Barrog), Laura Dempsey (Fingallians), Eimear Loughlin (Cuala), Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Erin Healy (O’Dwyers), Lisa Davies (Foxrock Cabinteely), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Laura Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields), Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala), Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters), Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), Laura Carthy (St Maurs).


Dublin Substitutions:

Emma McCormack (Fingallians) for L Quinn, Eimear Griffen (Castleknock) for G O’Driscoll


Dublin Scorers:


Laura Carthy 1-02

Kate Sullivan 0-04(3f)

Caoimhe O’Connor 1-00

Laura Quinn 0-02

Niamh Hetherton 0-01

Grainne O’Driscoll 0-01

Erin Healy 0-01

Eimear Griffen 0-01

Sarah Fagan 0-01(1f)


Dublin’s Niamh Hetherton In The Dublin Sky Blue Jersey In Action Against Meath In The Leinster Final

Meath Team:

Judy Bobbett, Katie Newe, Mary Kate Lynch, Beibhinn Hickey, Rachel Troy, Orla Smith, Aedin Slattery, Susie O’Rourke, Laoise McDermott, Marina Kelly, Keah Devine, Seona Lynch, Lauryn Grier, Megan Peters, Tara Berigan


Meath Substitutions:

Orlagh Lally for O Smith, Petra Reilly for L Devine, Abbie Timmons for S O’Rourke


Meath Scorers:


Lauryn Grier 1-01 (1 Pen & 1f)

Tara Berigan 1-01

Leah Devine 0-01

Orlagh Lally 0-01

Abbie Timmons 0-01


Player Of The Match:

Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill)


Referee: Jason Corcoran (Kildare)

Lines-People: Mags Doherty (Wexford), Cathy Forde (Wicklow).

Report courtesy of Dublin LGFA