Dublin And Cork Will Play Out The Next Chapter Of Their Great Rivalry In Croke Park Tomorrow

Dublin team to play Cork in the third round of the Lidl National Football League
Image Credit: Dublin LGFA

LIDL National Football League Division 1, Round 3

Dublin v Cork

Saturday February 8th

Venue: Croke Park

Throw-In: 5pm

Referee: Niall McCormick (Laois)

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has made three changes to the Dublin starting 15 for tomorrow’s meeting with reigning league champions Cork in Croke Park.

The changes are in the half-back and full-forward lines, Orlagh Nolan from Ballinteer St Johns replaces Lucy Collins in the half back line and Hannah O’Neill and Caoimhe O’Connor come in to the full-forward line in place of Niamh Sweeney and Oonagh Whyte who are both named on the Dublin bench.

For the first time this season experienced All-Star forward Lyndsey Davey is named in the Dublin panel. Supporters of the Sky Blues will be delighted that the Skerries Harps star is back in a Dublin jersey for another season, her sixteenth since Lyndsey made her senior debut for Dublin back in 2004.

Davey has and still is an incredible servant to Dublin and an unbelievable role model during her playing career and her experience, scoring ability, ball carrying ability and link play will be vital once again for Dublin this year in league and championship.

Reigning champions Cork are currently sit in top spot in the division 1 league table after victories in their opening two games against Westmeath and Tipperary.

Dublin are currently in second spot following an opening day draw against Tipperary and a win over Mayo last weekend in Castlebar.

The last league meeting between these two great rivals was the 2019 semi-final which Cork narrowly won by a point after extra time.

Dublin though gained revenge a few months later when the two sides met in the All Ireland semi-final and goals from Caoimhe O’Connor and Sinead Aherne helped Dublin to a 2-11 to 0-11 win.

Cork manager Ephie Fitzgerald announced he was stepping down after the defeat but reversed that decision a couple of weeks later and remains in charge for the 2020 season.

Fitzgerald has named 10 players who played a part in last seasons All Ireland semi final against Dublin and pose a formidable threat up front, in particular the full forward line of Áine O’Sullivan, Saoirse Noonan and Orla Finn who will have to be kept under close watch by the Dublin backs.

Referee Niall McCormick will get proceedings underway in Croke Park tomorrow at 5pm and the game forms part of a double header and will be followed by the Dublin verses Monaghan Allianz National Football League game at 7pm.

Tickets are on sale from tickets.ie, select Centra / SuperValu stores and usual GAA ticket outlets.




1. Ciara Trant (St Brigids)

2. Eabha Rutledge (Kilmacud Crokes)

3. Muireann Ni Scanaill (Fingallians)

4. Martha Byrne (Cuala)

5. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

6. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)

7. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)

9. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala)

10. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvester’s)

11. Siobhan Woods (Raheny)

12. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)

13. Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy)

14. Hannah O’Neill (Foxrock Cabinteely)

15. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

Dublin Substitutes:

16. Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna)

17. Oonagh Whyte (Clann Mhuire)

18. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)

19. Niamh Sweeney (Ballinteer St Johns)

20. Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes)

21. Ciara McGuigan (Thomas Davis)

22. Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog)

23. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf)

24. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes).


1. Martina O’Brien

2. Maria Ambrose

3. Roisin Phelan

4. Sarah Leahy

5. Laura O’Mahony

6. Melissa Duggan

7. Aisling Hutchings

8. Maire O’Callaghan

9. Hannah Looney

10. Libby Coppinger

11. Bríd O’Sullivan

12. Laura Cleary

13. Áine O’Sullivan

14. Saoirse Noonan

15. Orla Finn

Cork Substitutes:

16. Lisa Crowley

17. Caoimhe O’Callaghan

18. Sarah Hayes

18. Claire O’Shea

19. Aisling Kelleher

20. Abbie O’Mahony

21. Eimear Kiely

22. Sadhbh O’Leary

23. Emma Cleary

24. Daire Kiely

25. Shauna Kelly

26. Orlagh Farmer

27. Eve Mullins

28. Katie Quirke

29. Aisling O’Sullivan