The Dublin Minor Ladies Footballers Booked Their Place In The Leinster Championship Semi Finals

Dublin 2-19

Laois 2-11

On Saturday afternoon the Dublin Minor Ladies Footballers booked their place in the Leinster semi finals on Easter Sunday following a hard fought 8 point win over Laois in a sunny, Annanough in Stradbally In Co. Laois.

Laois stunned the visitors with two first half goals by full forward Sarah Walsh with the midlanders leading the game at the break by 2-6 to 0-10.

Dublin against the wind in the second half upped their work rate and where rewarded with two goals of their own with Laura Carthy and Kate Sullivan raising the green flag.

The game was riddled with frees making it a stop start affair. With both sides relying on their free takers for scores. Both Kate Sullivan (Dublin) and Erone Fitzpatrick (Laois) where on the mark from the dead ball for their respective sides.

In the end it was Dublin who held out for the win and a place in the last four. Dublin will play either Kildare or Westmeath in the semifinal on Easter Monday.


Dublin Team:


Chanice Dolan (Na Fianna)

Laura Dempsey (Fingallians)

Eimear Loughlin (Cuala)

Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely)

Hannah Leah (Scoil Uí Chonaill)

Erin Healy (O’Dwyers)

Maria O’Dea (Clanna Gael Fontenoy)

Sarah Fagan (Clontarf)

Aoife Maher (Naomh Olaf)

Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely)

Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines)

Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala)

Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters)

Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf)

Laura Carthy (St Maurs)


Dublin Substitutes:


Alanah Coughlan (Parnells) for O’Dea

Laura Quinn (Lucan Sarsfields) for Egan

Sinead O’Donohue (Kilmacud Crokes) for O’Connell Bell

Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf) for Maher

Sinead Wylde (Cuala) for Sullivan.


Dublin Scorers:


Kate O’Sullivan 1-10(8f)

Laura Carthy 1-01

Caoimhe O’Connor 0-02

Laura Quinn 0-02

Sarah Fagan 0-01

Aoife Maher 0-01

Jodi Egan 0-01


Laois Scorers:


Erone Fitzpatrick 0-08 (6f)

Sarah Walsh 2-01

Caoimhe Lawlor 0-2(2f)


Referee: Stephen McNulty (Wicklow)