Dublin Forced To Make Seven Changes Due To Knocks


After last weeks bruising encounter with Kerry several Dublin players haven’t recovered in time from knocks for Sundays clash with Cavan forcing the Dublin management into making seven changes to starting line-up

List of the Dublin Senior team to face Cavan on Sunday which includes seven changes from the previous game due to injury.
Image Credit: Dublin LGFA

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has made seven changes to his side for this Sundays TG4 Senior All Ireland championship round two meeting with Cavan.

The quick eight day turnaround from last weekend’s bruising encounter with Kerry forced Bohan’s hand with a number of last weeks starting fifteen unable to recover fully from knocks they picked up in their round one game.

Out of the Dublin side for Sundays clash with Cavan are Leah Caffrey, Martha Byrne, Eilish O’Dowd, Lauren Magee, Caoimhe O’Connor, Jodi Egan and Chloe Darby, with Grainne Fitzsimons, Niamh Donlon, Jennifer Dunne, Niamh Hetherton, Annabelle Timothy, Dannielle Lawless and Sinéad Wylde coming into the side.

This Sundays game will be the first competitive outing for Cavan in six weeks, their last game was in the Ulster championship were they suffered a heavy twenty five point defeat to Armagh.

Time will tell how that result and the long layoff from action has effected the Breffni County, but that maybe offset somewhat by the fact Dublin have had to make seven changes to their starting team.

That makes Sunday’s game an intriguing encounter with plenty on the line for both teams. Following on from last weeks narrow defeat to Kerry the Dubs need to secure the win to keep their championship hopes alive.

Cavan on the other hand can secure their place in the quarter finals with what would be a huge upset victory over Mick Bohan’s side.

Tickets remain on sale for the game from this link – https://bit.ly/3Nioxy9

Supporters unable to make the journey to Kingspan Breffni Park can follow all the action live via the LGFA streaming portal – to register and for more info click here https://bit.ly/3JmnJqN

And also on Sunday we will have LIVE UPDATES of all the action as it happens over on our Twitter feed @wearedub

Dublin: 1. Abby Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), 2. Niamh Crowley (Fingallians), 3. Grainne Fitzsimons (Cuala), 4. Niamh Donlon (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh), 5. Faye O’Connell Bell (Foxrock Cabinteely), 6. Aoife Kane (Kilmacud Crokes), 7. Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), 8. Jennifer Dunne (Cuala), 9. Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), 10. Annabelle Timothy (St Finians Swords), 11. Dannielle Lawless (St Sylvesters), 12. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), 13. Hannah Tyrrell (Na Fianna), 14. Sinéad Wylde (Cuala), 15. Kate Sullivan (St Sylvesters).

Dublin Substitutes: 16. Emer Ni Éafa (Fingallians), 17. Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), 18. Emma Strappe (Castleknock), 19. Chloe Darby (Parnells), 20. Orla Martin (Na Fianna), 21. Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), 22. Martha Byrne (Cuala), 23. Eilis O’Dowd (Na Fianna), 24. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), 25. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna), 26. Tammy Quinn Corbally (Thomas Davis), 27. Sinead Daly (Lucan Sarsfields), 28. Emma Deeley (Na Fianna).