TG4 Leinster Senior Ladies Football Final
Dublin v Westmeath
Sunday 9th Of July
Venue: Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow
Throw-In: 4pm

Dublin and Westmeath will contest the TG4 Leinster final this coming Sunday in Carlow. The senior final will get underway at 4pm in Netwatch Cullen Park. Meath and Wexford will contest the Intermediate final at 2pm this game will be preceded by the Junior final involving Carlow and Kilkenny at 12 noon.

It’s been a good season to date for the Ladies of Westmeath under new manager Stephen Maxwell the Midland County having secured division 1 NFL status for 2018 while also qualifying for their third consecutive Leinster senior final versus Dublin.

Ballyboughal native Maxwell, who was honoured as LIDL NFL Manager of the Year back in May has great knowledge of the Dubs having been involved with the Capitals 2016 County minor management team. Laura McGinley, Hannah O’Neill and Tarah O’Sullivan were members of that minor squad of 2016 and are now very much part of the current senior set up under Mick Bohan.

Maxwell also managed the DCU O’Connor Cup squad this season which included a number of the current Dublin senior players, such as Leah Caffrey, Siobhan Woods and Emer Ní Éafa to name but a few.

Dublin has had the upper hand on Westmeath in the last two provincial deciders and will go into Sunday’s game as firm favourites to retain their Leinster title for a 6th year in a row. However Maxwell’s charges certainly have the ability to provide Dublin with a sterner test on Sunday based on the visible improvement and strong performances of their squad this season.

Mick Bohan is expected to name his starting 15 for Sunday’s much anticipated clash with Westmeath this Friday. However Dublin will have injury concerns over the fitness of Lauren Magee and Deirdre Murphy both of whom did not tog out in Dublin’s semi-final win over Laois.

For those supporters unable to make the journey to Carlow on Sunday TG4 are streaming the game live via their YouTube channel, throw in time 4pm.

Previous Meetings:

TG4 Leinster Senior Championship Final 2015

Dublin 2-12
Westmeath 0-11

Dublin Team: Ciara Trant, Olwen Carey, Muireann Ni Scanaill, Fiona Hudson, Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Finnegan, Colleen Barrett, Molly Lamb, Sarah McCaffrey, Noelle Healy, Kim Flood, Carla Rowe, Amy Connolly, Lyndsey Davey, Niamh McEvoy.

Dublin Substitutes:

Nicole Owens for McCaffrey, Sorcha Furlong for Carey, Niamh Rickard for Flood, Hannah Noonan for Connolly
Dublin Scorers:
Lyndsey Davey 1-01
Niamh McEvoy 1-00
Carla Rowe 0-03 (2f)
Sinead Goldrick 0-03
Noelle Healy 0-02
Kim Flood 0-01
Niamh Rickard 0-01
Nicole Owens 0-01

TG4 Leinster Senior Championship Final 2016

Dublin 4-23
Westmeath 0-07

Dublin Team: Ciara Trant, Olwen Carey, Deirdre Murphy, Leah Caffrey, Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Finnegan, Niamh Collins, Lauren Magee, Sorcha Furlong, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens, Carla Rowe, Siobhan Woods, Sinead Aherne, Lyndsey Davey.

Dublin Substitutes:

Molly Lamb for Magee
Niamh McEvoy for Woods
Amy Connolly for Owens
Olivia Leonard for Aherne
Lucy Collins for Finnegan

Dublin Scorers:

Lyndsey Davey 1-04(1f)
Nicole Owens 0-06
Sinead Goldrick 1-01
Noelle Healy 0-03
Carla Rowe 1-02
Sinead Aherne 1-02(1f)
Siobhan Woods 0-01
Deirdre Murphy 0-01
Ciara Trant 0-01(1f)