Dublin book place in Leinster Minor B Championship Final


Dublin had to dig deep to claim a hard fought two point win over Wexford and secure their Leinster Minor B Championship final spot

Dublin player is tackled by a Wexford player during todays Leinster Minor B Championship semi final.
Image Credit: Maurice Grehan

Dublin 3-06

Wexford 1-10

Dublin booked their place in the Leinster Minor B championship final following a hard fought two point victory over Wexford this afternoon in TU Blanchardstown.

The young Dubs built up a five point lead by half-time thanks to two goals from full forward Megan McAuley. Dublin got the perfect start to the second half when Eabha Ni Maolagain bagged the Sky Blues third goal.

But Dublin had to dig deep when they lost Niamh Donlon to the sin-bin in the opening quarter of the second half with Wexford chipping away at the Dubs lead. But Dublin held one to claim a two point victory.

Dublin started spritely and raced into a four points to one lead with midfielder Heather Bolger hitting all four scores, three from frees and one from open play with the solitary reply for Wexford scored by Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain from a free.

Ni Nuallain who was causing plenty of problems for the Dublin defenders with her constant movement and converted her second free to half the Dublin lead.

Points from Wexford’s Hannah Kehoe and Sarah Doyle brought the sides level with 15 minutes gone on the clock.

Two minutes later though and Dublin full forward Megan McAuley got the pivotal opening goal of the game to push the Dubs three points clear of their opponents.

Abigail McKeating extended the Dublin lead to four with a fine point from play, but points from Roisin Hughes and Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain left just two points between the sides with five minutes to go to the break.

Just as the game headed into first half injury time Dublin were awarded a penalty which Megan McAuley slotted past Wexford keeper Lauren Kehoe to give Dublin a half-time lead of 2-05 to 0-06.

The home side got the perfect restart when centre forward Eabha Ni Maolagain bagged a third Dublin goal to extend the lead to eight.

In fairness to Wexford they responded well scoring an unanswered 1-02, the points coming from Karen Tomkins from play and a Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain converted free and the goal came via a penalty which Wexford substitute Tara Roche blasted past Dublin keeper Lauren Quane.

Dublin were then reduced to 14 when Niamh Dolan was sent to the sin-bin for ten minutes. But Wexford despite the numerical advantage couldn’t quite reel Dublin back in.

Two Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain converted frees left just the bare minimum between the sides with eight minutes left on the clock, but the final score of the game was scored by Dublin’s Abigail McKeating which secured a two point win and Dublin’s place in the Leinster Minor B final on July 6th against either Longford or Laois.


Dublin Scorers


14. Megan McAuley 2-00 (1-00 pen)

9. Heather Bolger 0-04 (3f)

11. Eabha Ni Maolagain 1-00

15. Abigail McKeating 0-02


Wexford Scorers


11. Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain 0-06 (5f)

17. Tara Roche 1-00 (1-00 pen)

12. Hannah Kehoe 0-01

14. Sarah Doyle 0-01

10. Roisin Hughes 0-01

6. Karen Tomkins 0-01




1. Lauren Quinn

2. Amber Taylor

3. Rachel Callery

4. Lana Nolan

5. Niamh Donlon

6. Sarah Rooney

7. Hannah McGinnis

8. Niamh Crowley

9. Heather Bolger

10. Rebecca O’Reilly

11. Eabha Ni Maolagain

12. Sophie McIntyre

13. Ciara Murray

14. Megan McAuley

15. Abigail McKeating


Dublin Substitutions


18. Anu Ní Mhurigheasa for 10. Rebecca O’Reilly (HT)

29. Annabelle Timothy for 6. Sarah Rooney (HT)




16. Laura Kehoe

2. Amy Tobin Cosgrave

3. Cora McGrath

4. Niamh English

5. Niamh Cullen

6. Karen Tomkins

7. Isobeal English

8. Leah Furling

9. Katie English

10. Roisin Hughes

11. Caoilfhionn Ni Nuallain

12. Hannah Kehoe

13. Orlaith Byrne

14. Sarah Doyle

18. Abigail Clarke


Wexford Substitutions


17. Tara Roche for 2. Amy Tobin Cosgrave (29)

22. Zoe Tobin Cosgrave for 8. Leah Furling (37)

20. Mia Davy Edmonds for 14. Sarah Doyle (49)


Referee: Jason Corcoran (Kildare)