Dublin begin Division 1B league campaign with twelve point win over Waterford


Caoimhe O’Connor top scored with 1-01 as Dublin enjoyed a winning start to their Division 1B league campaign

Dublins Hannah Tyrrell shoots for a point during her sides 12 point Division 1B win over Waterford.
Hannah Tyrrell of Dublin in action against Megan Dunord of Waterford during the LIDL Ladies National Football League Division 1B Round 1 match between Waterford and Dublin at Fraher Field in Dungarvan, Waterford. Photo by Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Dublin 4-07

Waterford 1-04


By Aisling Clery


Caoimhe O’Connor hit 1-1 as reigning champions Dublin opened their Lidl National Football League Division 1B campaign with a win against Waterford at Fraher Field.

Dublin led throughout, taking a 2-3 to 0-1 lead into the half time break, while Waterford dominated possession at times but they couldn’t make it count on the scoreboard.

Dublin were on top in the early exchanges and Hannah Tyrrell landed their first score on three minutes.

Waterford tested out the Dublin defence with Emma Murray and Aisling Mullaney trying to make the most of their chances but the scores came up the other end.

Dublin’s first goal arrived after eight minutes with a sweeping team move finished to the net by Jennifer Dunne. And Kate Sullivan was unlucky to see her effort drop into the arms of Eimear Gallagher in the Waterford goals a minute later.

Leah Caffrey and Orlagh Nolan both scored points to leave Dublin with a 1-3 to 0-0 lead at the water break.

Waterford enjoyed more of the possession in the second quarter and were duly rewarded when Brid McMaugh scored from distance.

Dublin’s response was immediate in the shape of their second goal. Tyrrell won possession and her offload freed O’Connor who found the net. That goal gave Dublin a 2-3 to 0-1 advantage at the interval.

The hosts controlled much of the third quarter. Katie Murray grabbed their second score but this was cancelled out minutes later by a fine O’Connor point. Then substitute Siobhan Killeen left her mark on the game when she chipped Gallagher for Dublin’s third goal.

Waterford’s pressure eventually told when Emma Murray scored a goal just before the second half water break, making it an eight-point game, at 3-4 to 1-2.

Dublin were reduced to 14 players when Abby Shiels was shown a yellow card but it didn’t swing the game in Waterford’s favour. They did score through Lauren McGregor and Brid McMaugh, but Dublin finished the stronger with Tyrrell, Siobhan Woods and Hannah Leahy all finding their range to ensure the reigning champions opened their 2022 account with a comfortable win.


Waterford Scorers


8. Emma Murray 1-00

10. Bríd McMaugh 0-02

13. Katie Murray 0-01

23. Lauren McGregor 0-01 (1f)


Dublin Scorers


12. Caoimhe O’Connor 1-01

14. Hannah Tyrrell 0-03 (2f)

8. Jennifer Dunne 1-00

22. Siobhan Killeen 1-00

4. Hannah Leahy 1-00

3. Leah Caffrey 0-01

5. Orlagh Nolan 0-01

23. Siobhan Woods 0-01




1. Eimear Gallagher

2. Megan Dunord

3. Caoimhe McGrath

4. Rebecca Casey

5. Aisling Mullaney

6. Karen McGrath

7. Laura Cusack

8. Emma Murray

9. Laura Mulcahy

10. Bríd McMaugh

11. Hannah Power

12. Mairead Wall

13. Katie Murray

14. Chloe Fennell

15. Kate McGrath


Waterford Substitutions


17. Kellyann Hogan for 14. Chloe Fennell (41)

18. Aine O’Neill for 11. Hannah Power (41)

23. Lauren McGregor for 5. Aisling Mullaney (59)

21. Maeve Daly for 15. Kate McGrath (59)

22. Cora Murray for 3. Caoimhe McGrath (61)

25. Aoife Murray for 7. Laura Cusack (61)

24. Sheena McGuckian for 4. Rebecca Casey (61)




1. Abby Shiels

2. Jess Tobin

3. Leah Caffrey

4. Hannah Leahy

5. Orlagh Nolan

6. Martha Byrne

7. Aoife Kane

8. Jennifer Dunne

9. Kate McDaid

10. Kate Sullivan

11. Nicole Owens

12. Caoimhe O’Connor

13. Oonagh Whyte

14. Hannah Tyrrell

15. Jodi Egan


Dublin Substitutions


22. Siobhan Killeen for 13. Oonagh Whyte (HT)

17. Ellen Gribben for 15. Jodi Egan (HT)

20. Niamh Hetherton for 7. Aoife Kane (32)

23. Siobhan Woods for 11. Nicole Owens (51)

16. Emer Ní Eafa for 23. Siobhan Woods (51)

23. Siobhan Woods for 1. Abby Shiels (62)