Defending Champions Dublin Displayed A Ruthless Streak Right To The Finish

Lyndsey Davey breaks away with the ball from a Waterford player as Defending Champions Dublin comfortably Beat Waterford in the All Ireland Championship
Dublin’s Lyndsey Davey In Action Against Waterford In O’Moore Park In Portlaoise In The TG4 Senior All Ireland Ladies Football Championship.

Dublin 5-15

Waterford 2-06

By Daire Walsh

Defending champions Dublin underlined their TG4 All-Ireland SFC title credentials with a comprehensive Group 2 triumph against Waterford at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

Despite the absence of team captain Sinead Aherne through injury, the attacking triumvirate of Nicole Owens, Niamh McEvoy and Lyndsey Davey ensured victory was never in doubt for the Leinster outfit.

Abbeyside’s Maria Delahunty led by example throughout for Waterford, whose focus now switches to a crunch encounter away to Monaghan next weekend.

Starting with 11 of the team that secured the Brendan Martin Cup at Cork’s expense last September, the three in-a-row chasing Sky Blues signalled their intent during a fast-paced opening to the action.

Following an early point for Davey, Owens released St Sylvester’s club-mate McEvoy for a clinical fifth-minute goal. The centre-forward also raised a white flag at the end of a subsequent attack, before Aileen Wall and Maria Delahunty brought the Deise challenge to life.

While full-forward Michelle Ryan was an also target, an earlier major for Davey left them five points behind, 2-02 to 0-03, at the end of the first-quarter. Their woes were further compounded when Owens raised another green flag for Mick Bohan’s charges.

Siobhan McGrath and Lauren Magee added points either side of this effort and a fourth Dublin goal inevitably arrived through McEvoy, when she got her second after 19 minutes.

Points from Owens and Noelle Healy bolstered their tally and while half-back Roisin Tobin kicked an excellent point for Waterford, the champions led 4-06 to 0-04 at the break.

A pointed Delahunty free gave Ciaran Curran’s side further hope on the resumption, only for Owens and McEvoy to respond in similar style at the far end.

Waterford never allowed their heads to drop, however, and were rewarded with a goal in the 41st-minute.

After Sinead Goldrick was adjudged to have hauled down Eimear Fennell inside the square, Delahunty slotted the penalty beyond the reach of Ciara Trant.

Nevertheless, Dublin quickly reinforced their superiority courtesy of unanswered points from McEvoy, Davey and Owens.

Delahunty and McEvoy traded scores inside the final-quarter, a juncture that saw Siobhan Woods contributing 0-02 off the bench.

A superb Fennell goal lifted the spirits of the Waterford faithful, but a ruthless Dublin had the final say through Davey’s late 1-01 salvo.

Dublin Scorers

11. Niamh McEvoy 2-04 (2f)

15. Lyndsey Davey 2-03 (1f)

10. Nicole Owens 1-03

25. Siobhan Woods 0-02

9. Siobhan McGrath 0-01

7. Lauren Magee 0-01

13. Noelle Healy 0-01

14. Niamh Hetherton 0-01

23. Oonagh Whyte 0-01

Waterford Scorers

15. Marie Delahunty 1-02 (1-00 pen, 2f)

13. Eimear Fennell 1-00

10. Aileen Wall 0-01

8. Katie Murray 0-01

14. Michelle Ryan 0-01


1. Ciara Trant

2. Eabha Rutledge

3. Niamh Collins

17. Martha Byrne

5. Aoife Kane

6. Sinead Goldrick

7. Lauren Magee

8. Olwen Carey

9. Siobhan McGrath

10. Nicole Owens

11. Niamh McEvoy

23. Oonagh Whyte

13. Noelle Healy

14. Niamh Hetherton

15. Lyndsey Davey

Dublin Substitutions

12. Jennifer Dunne for 23. Oonagh Whyte (HT)

21. Muireann Ni Scannaill for 14. Niamh Hetherton (40)

25. Siobhan Woods for 10. Nicole Owens (46)

18. Sarah Fagan for 8. Olwen Carey (50)

24. Caoimhe O’Connor for 11. Niamh McEvoy (50)


1. Rosie Landers

2. Cora Murray

3. Emma Murray

4. Kate McGrath

5. Roisin Tobin

6. Karen McGrath

7. Aisling Mullaney

8. Katie Murray

9. Chloe Fennell

10. Aileen Wall

11. Kellyann Hogan

12. Brigita Valuntaite

13. Eimear Fennell

14. Michelle Ryan

15. Marie Delahunty

Waterford Substitutions

19. Lauren McGregor for 12. Brigita Valuntaite (48)