Crokes and Davis name teams for Dublin LGFA senior championship final


Thomas Davis will be appearing in their very first Dublin LGFA senior championship final

A Thomas Davis and Kilmacud Crokes player pictured with the cup at a photoshoot for the Dublin LGFA senior championship final
Image Credit: Inpho Sports Photography

Kilmacud Crokes and Thomas Davis have named their teams for tonight’s eagerly awaited Dublin LGFA senior championship final in Parnell Park.

Kilmacud Crokes have named an experienced starting fifteen which includes a number of current members of the Dublin Senior squad and eleven of tonights starting team played in the 2019 final which Crokes lost to Foxrock Cabinteely after extra-time.

Three of Crokes starting team, Dearbhla Gower, Ciara Regan and Kate McDaid will be appearing in their first senior final.

It’s a big night and a new experience for the Thomas Davis players as they will be appearing in their very first senior County final.

Davis have impressed throughout the club championship and have named a strong team which includes the experienced quartet of Olwen Carey, Norah Kirby, Sinead Deegan and Ciara McGuigan with all four players in fantastic form during the campaign.

Team captain and 2019 LGFA Players Player of the Year Siobhan McGrath has been named on the bench. McGrath has been unavailable for most of her teams championship campaign due to injury but returned for the semi final against Na Fianna and played a key role in the victory and could play a big role tonight off the bench in deciding the outcome of tonight’s final.

Both teams met earlier in the competition in the group stages with Crokes enjoying a comfortable win by 3-09 to 0-04. Thomas Davis had already qualified for the semi finals prior to the game, but the result wasn’t ideal heading into the semi’s.

The Davis management spoke this week that they maybe showed Crokes too much respect and got their tactics wrong for that game.

And it seems that lessons were certainly learned from that game as just a week later Thomas Davis pulled of a shock one point win over a fancied Na Fianna side.

On the same evening Kilmacud Crokes continued their dominant unbeaten championship run with an eleven point win over St Sylvesters and head into tonight’s Dublin LGFA senior championship final as clear favourites.

But as Thomas Davis have already proven this campaign you write them off at your peril and having pulled off one shock result already, can lightning strike twice this evening, time will tell and this one promises to be an intriguing contest tonight.

The action gets underway in Parnell Park at 7.30pm, tickets remain on sale from simply click on this link to purchase tickets

For supporters unable to make it to Donnycarney this evening they can watch the game live from 7.15pm on Dublin LGFA TV, DubsTV.

We will also have LIVE score updates from throw-in over on our Twitter feed @wearedub

Below are the Kilmacud Crokes and Thomas Davis teams.

Kilmacud Crokes: 1. Dearbhla Gower, 2. Phillipa Greene, 3. Emer Sweeney (Capt.), 4. Ciara Regan, 5. Lauren Magee, 6. Molly Lamb, 7. Aoife Kane, 8. Grace Kos, 9. Kate McDaid, 10. Laura Kane, 11. Eabha Rutledge, 12. Mia Jennings, 13. Kate Murray, 14. Michelle Davoren, 15. Julia Buckley.

Panel: Rachael Fleming, Sinéad O’Donoghue, Orlagh Comerford, Lauren Bedford, Cassie Sultan, Amy Conroy, Jo Timmins, Niamh Cotter, Emma Kane, Alex Bedford, Evie Lehane, Deirdre Duke, Michaela Fitzpatrick, Shauna Buckley.

Management: Paddy O’Donoghue, Peter Ward, Terry Jennings, Imelda Callaghan, Declan Collins, David Buckley, Eoin Moran, Dr Kate Kirby.

Thomas Davis: 1. Caitlin Staunton, 2. Cliodhna MacCabe, 3. Riona McTavish, 4. Emma Whelan, 5. Emma Phillips, 6. Colley Casey, 7. Tammy Quinn Corbally, 8. Olwen Carey, 9. Norah Kirby, 10. Jade Sweeney, 11. Sinead Deegan, 12. Lauren Young, 13. Meadhbh Deeney, 14. Rachel Newell, 15. Ciara McGuigan.

Panel: Orlagh McGuigan, Niamh McGoldrick, Deborah Brennan, Stephanie Gunn, Siobhan McGrath (Capt.), Sinead Murray, Laura Slaughter, Stacey Byrne, Kerrie Owens, Aimee Collins, Ellie Haverty, Rebecca Leigh, Kate Fitzhenry, Niamh Redmond.

Management: Peter Boland, Bobby McNulty, Ger Deasy, Sean Blanchfield, Peter Wright, Mark Sheehy, Mary McGrath. Additional panel members, Naomi Byrne, Abbie Ferns, Kaythlynn Murray.