Trant, Collins, Kane, Nolan And McEvoy Come Into The Dublin Side


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1,

Galway v Dublin

Sunday 24th of March

Venue: Moycullen

Throw-In: 2pm


Reigning LIDL NFL champions Dublin make five changes to the side that beat Monaghan for Sunday’s clash with Galway in Moycullen.

Dublin manager Mick Bohan brings in All Star goalkeeper Ciara Trant, Niamh Collins, Aoife Kane, Orlagh Nolan and All Star forward Niamh McEvoy.

They replace goalkeeper Rachel Fleming, Niamh Hetherton, Hannah O’Neill, Sarah Fagan and Lauren Magee.

Dublin are chasing a fifth league win in a row against the only side to defeat them last season.

Dublin and Galway met on three occasions last season – in their regulation league meeting in late March Galway came out on top on a scoreline of 1-17 to 1-15.

The two sides met again in late April in the Lidl NFL semi finals, this time it was Dublinwho prevailed thanks to a late Nicole Owens goal to secure a 2-08 to 2-07 win.

The next clash between the teams took place on the 25th of August where Dublin the now reigning Lidl NFL champions after securing their maiden division 1 title in early May and current All Ireland champions brushed the Galway challenge aside with a scintillating first half performance in a 4-08 to 1-10 victory.

Galway are unbeaten and have secured their place in this seasons league semi finals with two rounds of games to play.

Reigning Lidl NFL Champions Dublin Have All But Secured A Semi Final Spot

Reigning champions Dublin have all but guranteed their own place in the semi’s, Mayo mathematically can still secure a top four finish but face Cork this weekend needing to pull off what would be considered a shock win against the Leesiders.

Galway will look to continue their unbeaten run on Sunday and lay down a marker against Dublin because of the potential of meeting Mick Bohan’s charges in either the league semi final or final.

But Dublin will have ambitions of their own to make it a third win in a row against the Tribeswomen which should make this a tantilising fixture on Sunday.

For those that can’t make the trip to Moycullen on Sunday the game will be streamed LIVE on the Ladies Gaelic Football Association’s Facebook Page


Dublin Team:


1. Ciara Trant

St Brigids

2. Martha Byrne


3. Niamh Collins

Foxrock Cabinteely

4. Rachel Ruddy

Ballyboden St. Endas

5. Aoife Kane

Kilmacud Crokes

6. Olwen Carey

Thomas Davis

7. Sinead Goldrick

Foxrock Cabinteely

8. Jennifer Dunne


9. Siobhan McGrath

Thomas Davis

10. Orlagh Nolan

Ballinteer St Johns

11. Niamh McEvoy

St Sylvesters

12. Lyndsey Davey

Skerries Harps

13. Sinead Aherne (Capt)

St Sylvesters

14. Noelle Healy


15. Siobhan Killeen



Head shots of the players to play for Reigning Lidl NFL Champions Dublin this weekend against Galway


Dublin Substitutes:


16. Rachel Fleming

Kilmacud Crokes

17. Sinead Finnegan


18. Emma McDonagh

Foxrock Cabinteely

19. Sarah Fagan


20. Niamh Hetherton


21. Carla Rowe

Clann Mhuire

22. Nicole Owens

St Sylvesters

23. Kate Sullivan

St Sylvesters

24. Siobhan Woods


25. Lauren Magee

Kilmacud Crokes

26. Kate Fitzgibbon


27. Hannah O’Neill

Foxrock Cabinteely

28. Oonagh Whyte

Clann Mhuire

29. Eabha Rutledge

Kilmacud Crokes

30. Lucy Collins

Na Fianna



Dublin Management: Mick Bohan, Ken Robinson, Sorcha Farrelly, Paul Casey, Paul Gilheaney, Kathleen Colreavy


Galway Team: R Ní Chongaile; M Coyne, S Lynch, F Cooney; S Molloy, B Hannon, C Cooney; O Divilly, L Ward; L Coen, T Leonard (Capt.), M Glynn; L Hannon, R Leonard, S Conneally