Castleknock Ladies Footballers celebrating being crowned Dublin Ladies Junior Champions
Castleknock Ladies Footballers celebrating being crowned Dublin Ladies Junior Champions (Image Credit


Castleknock 4-12

Lucan Sarsfields 1-07


By Brendan Graham


Castleknock on Wednesday night last were crowned Dublin Ladies Junior Champions for 2018 after a convincing fourteen point defeat of Lucan Sarsfields in Swords.

Lucan started the brighter of the teams but it was Castleknock who should have taken control of the scoreboard in the early minutes of the game.

A Jessica Comerford effort was collected high in the air by Susan Scully before a fantastic full stretch block by Orlaith McKelvey denied Comerford for the second time in minutes.

Following a lengthy spell of pressure from Castleknock their persistence eventually paid off with the opening score of the game from Hannah Halon.

Points were then exchanged at both ends between Abbey Shields and Aoife Whelan to get the scoring underway.

Lucan were struggling to deal with the quick running off the ball from Castleknock and Castleknock made sure to capitalise on this from early moving the ball as quick as they could to the player in space every time.

The first goal chance of the game came the way of Lucan and for Aoife McKearney, but she pulled her effort short of the near post after finding herself unmarked and close to goal.

It was the wake up call that Castleknock needed as straight from this kickout they went down the field and scored 1-01 in the space of thirty seconds just before half time including a well taken goal by Laura O’Hare. Half Time Score Castleknock 1-06 Lucan Sarsfields 0-03.

Within minutes of the second half throw in the lively Jessica Comerford had the umpire looking for his green flag once more firing to the net having received the ball over the top in space.

A great start to the second half for Castleknock and another quick fire point direct from the goal extended their early second half lead to 2-07 to 0-03.

Lucan to their credit never once let their heads drop and had a goal of their own minutes later.

Katie Wisdom did extremely well to look up and find Laura Quinn in space who made no mistake and fired to the net.

The comeback was on and they almost had a second goal in the space of two minutes but were denied by a fantastic Amy Mahoney save right in front of goal which ensured their seven point lead remained intact.

Points were then exchanged at both ends of the field but crucially Castleknock maintained their 5-6 point lead throughout the game.

As the second half advanced Lucan’s tireless hard work to get back into the game was dealt a cruel blow when Castleknock were awarded two penalties in the space of three minutes with the pace and power of Laura O’Hare and Jessica Comerford proving a huge problem for Lucan.

Hannah Halon and Comerford slotted the penalties high and into the top corner and ensured that Castleknock would be the ones celebrating when the final whistle sounded minutes later.

A brave and encouraging effort from Lucan with plenty of positives to take from the game overall.

The pace and football being played by both sides was to be applauded with tireless amounts of running off the ball and a real positive and open game of football unfolding.


Castleknock Scorers: Hannah Halon (1-04, 3f), Aoife Whelan (0-01), Jessica Comerford (2-03), Aisling O’Connor (0-01), Laura O’Hare (1-01), Ciara Burgess (0-02)


Lucan Sarsfields Scorers: Abbey Shiels (0-01), Aoife McKearney (0-01), Mairi Moynihan (0-02), Laura Quinn (1-01), Emma Flanagan (0-01), Ciara McNamara (0-01)




1.Amy Mahony

2. Orlaith Higgins

3. Jennifer Hickey

4. Sinead Comerford

5. Nicola Fagan

6. Aisling Mahony

7. Louise Mahony

8. Denise Convery

9. Lauren O’Neill

10. Aoife Whelan

11. Aisling O’Connor

12. Hannah Halon

13. Laura O’Hare

14. Ciara Burgess

15. Jessica Comerford .


Substitutes: 17. Sinead Cremin, 18. Laura Carolan, 19. Emma Finney, 20. Aisling O’Donnell, 21. Karla Whelan, 22.Lelia Ryan, 23. Mairead Griffin, 24. Ciara Murray, 25. Molly O’Neill, 26. Claire Nulty, 27. Claire Murray, 28. Tara King


Lucan Sarsfields:


1. Susan Scully

2. Emma Fallon

3. Patricia Gordon

4. Avril Quinn

5. Emma O’Flynn

6. Orlaith McKelvey

7. Sarah Robinson

8. Mairi Moynihan

9. Emma Flanagan

10. Laura Quinn

11. Ali Twomey

12. Katie Wisdom

13. Abbey Shiels

14.Ciara McNamara

15. Aoife McKearney.


Substitutes: 17. Ashling Clarke, 18. Sinead O’Toole, 19. Zara Lawless, 20. Aoife Reynolds, 21. Abby Lawlor, 22. Anna Cuffe, 23. Danni O’Connor, 24. Sarah Maloney


Referee: David Murphy (St James Gaels)


POM: Ciara Burgess (Castleknock)