U16 All Ireland Final 2016
Dublin v Kerry
Wednesday July 27th,
Venue: McDonagh Park, Nenagh
Throw-In: 7pm

A huge day for our young Dub’s as they set off on the journey to Nenagh this afternoon in search of All Ireland glory.

Standing in their way is a formidable Kerry side many of whom have already tasted U16 success having demolished Galway in last year’s decider by 24 points.

Remarkably Kerry has eleven players involved in this evening final who enjoyed U16 All Ireland success last season with the Kingdom.

Dublin lost out to Kerry last year at the semi-final stage having given Kerry a fright with a spirited second half performance.

Despite their brave comeback Dublin could not reduce the Kingdom’s lead and in the end five points separated the two sides, Dublin 3-09 Kerry 3-14.

While Kerry are aiming to secure back to back under 16 titles, Dublin are looking to bridge a six year gap having last lifted the cup back in 2010.

The 2010 Dublin team featured current senior stars Ciara Trant, Deirdre Murphy, Leah Caffrey, Siobhan Woods and Molly Lamb.

Kerry overcame Connacht champions, Mayo in their semi-final outscoring the westerners by 4-15 to 0-09. Kerry’s, Hannah O’Donoghue and Erica McGlynn with a brace of goals each while corner forward Aoife O’Callaghan chipped in with 7 points.

Dublin Likewise had a convincing win in their semi-final versus Armagh with Hannah Leahy, Sarah McMahon, Rachel Brennan and Emma McCormack all raising the green flag. Seventeen points separated the two sides at the final whistle with the score Dublin 4-15 Armagh 1-07.

Those supporters travelling to Nenagh for the game this evening are guaranteed to be treated to an excellent game of Gaelic football between two well prepared and talented teams.

On paper Kerry’s experience of winning finals may give the girls from the Kingdom a slight edge but hunger is good sauce and Dublin have an insatiable desire to taste success….

Dublin panel 2016:

Aideen Lynch (Na Fianna), Aine Ryan (Naomh Barrog), Anna Goodey (St Maurs), Aoife Dwyer (Ballyboden St Endas), Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), Ciara Holland (Naomh Mearnog), Ciara Murray (Castleknock), Ciara Thorburn (Fingallians), Eimear Loughlin (Cuala), Emma McCormack (Fingallians), Erin Healy (O’Dwyers), Grace Kos (Kilmacud Crokes), Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Hannah Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), Jessica Connolly (Cuala), Jessica Darby (Parnells), Jessica Keating (St Jude’s), Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Katie McNally (St Anne’s), Kelly Jean Courtney (Parnells), Laura Dempsey (Fingallians), Lisa Davies (Foxrock Cabinteely), Maria O’Dea (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Megan Cluskey (Erins Isle), Naoise Tobin (Beann Eadair), Niamh Hetherton (Clontarf), Rachel Brennan – Captain (St Peregrines), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Sarah McMahon (Kilmacud Crokes), Sinead O’Donoghue (Kilmacud Crokes), Sinead Wylde (Cuala), Tara King (Castleknock).

Dublin management team:

Pat Kane (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Fearghal Brennan (Ballyboden St Endas), Lee Moroney (St Anne’s), Stephen Healy (O’Dwyers), Deirdre Colgan (St Margaret’s), Ciara Farrell (Physio).

Dublin’s path to the U16 All Ireland Final:

Leinster Round Robin Series:

27th February, Dublin 3-07 Meath 6-06, 12th March, Dublin 8-20 Longford 0-02, 19th March, Dublin 2-19 Kildare 2-04, 28th March, Dublin 11-14 Laois 4-10,
9th April, Dublin 7-09 Louth 2-09.

Leinster Final:

26th June, Dublin 1-15 Meath 2-07

All Ireland Semi-Final:

9th July, Dublin 4-15 Armagh 1-07