2020 Dublin Senior Ladies Football Championship Panel Announced


2020 Dublin Senior Ladies Football Panel get their championship underway against Donegal this Saturday

The Dublin Senior ladies footballers celebrating on the pitch after last years All Ireland final, the 2020 Dublin Senior Ladies football panel has been named for this year’s championship

The 2020 Dublin Senior Ladies Football Championship panel has been named ahead of this Saturday’s opening round game of the TG4 Senior championship against Donegal.

The Dublin management have named a 37 strong championship squad which includes players from now fewer than sixteen Dublin clubs.

County club championship runners up Kilmacud Crokes have the highest representation with five, closely followed by county club champions Foxrock Cabinteely, Clontarf and St Sylvester’s with four.

Up next are St Brigid’s, Cuala and Na Fianna with three, while Thomas Davis and Ballinteer St Johns have two representatives a piece.

The balance of the panel comprises of players from Lucan Sarsfields, Scoil Ui Chonaill, Naomh Barrog, Skerries Harps, Fingallians, Clann Mhuire and Clann Gael Fontenoy.

Dublin captain Sinead Aherne is the longest serving member of the squad having made her Dublin debut versus Longford back in 2003.

To date, Aherne has won 4 Senior All Irelands, 13 Senior Leinster Championships, 3 NFL titles and 7 All Star Awards. She has also captained Dublin to three All Ireland victories in a row.

Other long serving Dublin stalwarts included on the 2020 panel are, Siobhan McGrath, Lyndsey Davey, Noelle Healy, Sinead Goldrick and Niamh McEvoy.

While making a welcome return to championship football are Deirdre Murphy, Leah Caffrey, Sarah McCaffrey, Laura McGinley, and Rebecca McDonnell, all previous All Ireland winners under Mick Bohan.

A number of players from the 2019 winning squad not featuring in the sky blue this season are; Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis), Rachel Fleming (Kilmacud Crokes), Rachael Ruddy (Ballyboden St Endas), Siobhán Woods (Raheny), Oonagh Whyte (Clann Mhuire), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf), Kate Fitzgibbon (Clontarf) and Emma McDonagh (Foxrock Cabinteely).

Newcomers to the panel include 2019 minor panellists Cassie Sultan (Kilmacud Crokes), Jodie Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely) and Karen O’Connell (Na Fianna). While 2018 minor footballers Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill) and Rachael Hartnett (Cuala) are welcome editions to the panel with both girls having overcome serious knee injuries to return to playing football.

Other additions to the 2020 squad include Niamh Sweeney (Ballinteer St Johns) and Laura Kane (Kilmacud Crokes) both of whom got a run out during the now postponed NFL campaign.

Current minor goalkeeper Abbie Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields) re-joins the panel having been understudy to Ciara Trant for the 2019 championship campaign.

Dublin begin the defence of their All Ireland title this coming Saturday when they travel to Kingspan Breffni Park, Cavan for their championship encounter with Donegal.

The game is live on TG4 with coverage getting underway at 5pm. Score updates will also be available on Dublin LGFA social media platforms.

Dublin Championship Panel 2020

Niamh Sweeny, Orlagh Nolan (Ballinteer St Johns), Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire), Rebecca McDonnell (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Caoimhe O’Connor, Niamh Hetherton, Sarah McCaffrey, Siobhán Killeen (Clontarf), Jennifer Dunne, Martha Byrne, Rachael Hartnett (Cuala), Muireann Ní Scanaill (Fingallians), Hannah O’Neill, Jodie Egan, Niamh Collins, Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely), Aoife Kane, Cassie Sultan, Éabha Rutledge, Laura Kane, Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes), Abbie Shiels (Lucan Sarsfields), Karen O’Connell, Leah Caffrey, Lucy Collins (Na Fianna), Laura McGinley (Naomh Barrog), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps), Ciara Trant, Deirdre Murphy, Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s), Kate Sullivan, Niamh McEvoy, Nicole Owens, Sinead Aherne (St Sylvester’s), Ciara McGuigan, Siobhan McGrath (Thomas Davis).