Following a series of trials which ran for a seven week period, the Dublin U16 squad which will represent their County in the championship of 2017 has been announced. The 35 strong squad will begin the defense of the Counties Leinster crown with a home fixture against Meath on the 12th of March next. 

In total over 220+ players were involved in the trials process providing the Dublin U16 management team with a mammoth task to reduce this number down to the final panel of 35. The standard of football on display throughout the trials was of an extremely high level which is a huge testament to the hard work and dedication being applied by coaches at club level across the County. 

Dublin manager Steve Davis and his management team would like to acknowledge the support of all clubs and parents who cooperated with him over the last seven weeks insuring the smooth running of the trial process. 

Cuala’s Grainne O’Driscoll has been announced as the sides captain with Roisin McGovern of Foxrock Cabinteely taking on the role of vice-Captain.

All players listed below are requested to attend a squad training session this coming Saturday in Stars of Erin GAA club. Players are to meet at 11.30am with the session running from 12pm to 1.30pm. Girls are required to bring their, gumshields, water bottles, boots, RUNNERS and warm clothes. 

Leinster Fixtures Format 2017 (Group Stages)

* Robin Robin series of games in each group
* Placing’s decided by 3points for a win and 1point for a draw. Where two or more teams on the same points placings are determined as follows
* 2 teams tie the game is decided (a) Head to Head (b) Score difference (c) No. of scores.
* 3 or more teams tie it is decided (a) Head to Head (b) Score difference (c) Count back the scores between the 2 teams that remain tied. The scores from the 4th Team is disregarded at this point.
* Winner promoted, 2 losers go down.
* 5th & 6th placings determined by Head to Head. If they have not met there will be a play-off to determine position (*Only applicable to U14)
* Unlimited Subs up to semi finals
* Semi Finals & Finals – 5 Subs

U16 Competition:

‘A’ Competition:

* Top 2 Teams in A Group – ‘A’ Championship

‘B’ Competition:

* Teams 3,4,5,6 (1,2 Group B) – Play ‘B’ Semi Final – Draw 3 v 6, 4 v 5
* Winners play ‘B’ Championship Final – winners promoted to ‘A’ 2018
* 2 losers relegated to ‘C’ 2018

‘C’ Competition:

* Teams 7, 8, 9, 10 (1,2 Group C) Play ‘C’ Semi Final – Draw 7 v 10, 8 v 9
* Winners play ‘C’ Championship Final – Winners promoted to ‘B’ 2018

Shield Final:

* Teams 11 & 12 – Play ‘C’ Shield Final
* 2018 – ‘A’ & ‘B’ Finalist = ‘A’ 2018

Leinster U16 Championship Fixtures 2017

1st Named team – Home venue

Group A:

Meath, Dublin, Laois, Longford
Rd 1 – 12th March
Dublin v Meath
Longford v Laois

Rd 2 – 26th March
Meath v Longford
Laois v Dublin

Rd 3 – 9th April
Laois v Meath
Longford v Dublin

Dublin U16 Squad 2017:

Amy Gibbons

Amy O’Brien

Aoibhe Walsh
Clanna Gael Fontenoy

Belen Swords
Ballinteer St Johns

Caithlin Staunton
Thomas Davis

Catlin Coffey

Ceileigh McDonald

Chloe Johnston

Eimear Griffin

Emily Whelan

Emma McCormack

Grace Kos
Kilmacud Crokes

Grace Nash

Gráinne O’Driscoll

Hannah Howard

Hannah Murphy
Ballyboden St Endas

Jessica Connolly

Jodi Egan
Foxrock Cabinteely

Karen O’Connell
Na Fianna

Katie McNally
St Anne’s

Katie Wisdom
Lucan Sarsfields

Kerri Owens
Thomas Davis

Laura Quinn
Lucan Sarsfields

Lauren Young
Thomas Davis

Lisa Davies
Foxrock Cabinteely

Megan Benson
St Maur’s

Megan Colman
St Monica’s

Niamh Cummins
Trinity Gaels

Orlagh Mc Guigan
Thomas Davis

Rachel Seery
Templeogue Synge Street

Roisin McGovern
Foxrock Cabinteely

Sarah O’Leary
Foxrock Cabinteely

Sarah O’Laoide
Clanna Gael Fontenoy

Sophie Brennan
Naomh Mearnog

Tammy Quinn Corbally
Thomas Davis