Opening night for the Dublin U20 Hurlers in the first ever Leinster Championship

U20 Hurlers - Leinster Championship v Offaly

Dublin v Offaly
Wednesday, June 26th. 7:30pm
Parnell Park, Dublin

The Bord Gais Energy Leinster U20 Hurling Championship has reached the Quarter Final phase. And it’s at this point Dublin Senior selector Paul O’Brien leads the Dublin U20 Hurlers into action. Tomorrow night Parnell Park will host yet another hurling clash as Offaly arrive in Donnycarney.

The men from the faithful county breezed through Tier 1 of the competition with a comfortable win over Westmeath in Mullingar. A closer affair followed against Carlow but Offaly prevailed by three points to clear Tier 2 and advance to face Dublin tomorrow night.

Cuala hurler Diarmuid O’Floinn will captain O’Brien’s panel in their first championship venture which throws in at 7:30pm. Among the players featured in this panel are two of Dublin’s Senior Hurling panel. Whitehall’s Lee Gannon and Thomas Davis stick man Davy Keogh.

This Dublin side is bolstered by some of the Minor team from the 2017 campaign, who have now come of age. Conor O’Donoghue, Andrew Dunphy, Tommy Kinnane, Lee Gannon, Davy Keogh, Diarmuid O’Floinn, Kevin Desmond, Sean Currie, Luke McDwyer and Kevin Burke were all part of that team.

Beaten finalists in the Leinster Championship that year by Kilkenny, Dublin went onto beat Antrim in the All Ireland Quarter Final before finally losing out to Cork in the last four of the championship.

Among the names, that familiar Sean Currie features. The Na Fianna man was second top scorer in teh 2017 Championship, one point short of Cork’s Hugh Turnbull. Currie registered 2-47 to Turbull’s 1-51, and things could have been different had Dublin beaten Cork and continued in the competition.

Tomorrow’s winners will meet Wexford in the Championship Semi Final. Last night Kilkenny defeated Laois by 5-21 to 0-10 and they’ll meet Galway in their Semi Final.

Dublin U20 Hurlers (v Offaly)

1. Conor O’Donoghue (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s)
3. Tommy Kinanne (Naomh Mearnog)
4. Jack Fagan (Raheny)
5. Kevin Burke (Na Fianna)
6. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
7. Iain O h’Eithir (Ballinteer St John’s)
8. Michael Conroy (Cuala)
9. David Keogh (Thomas Davis)
10. Diarmaid O’Floinn (Cuala)
11. Luke McDwyer (Ballyboden St. Enda’s)
12. Cian Derwin (Craobh Chiarain)
13. Billy Ryan (Craobh Chiarain)
14. Sean Currie (Na Fianna)
15. Kevin Desmond (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

Dublin Substitutes:

16 Eddie Gibbons (Kilmacud Crokes)
17 Eoin Carney (Erin’s Isle)
18 Ciaran Hogan (St Jude’s)
19 Alex O’Neill Round Tower, (Clondalkin)
20 Pearse Christie (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
21 Liam Murphy (Cuala)
22 Matthew Dunne (Lucan Sarsfields)
23 Ciaran Foley (Naomh Olaf)
24 James O’Connell (St Brigid’s)