A comprehensive 11-score victory saw Premier County Tipperary ease through the Quarter Final

Dublin lose out to Tipperary

Dublin 0-20

Tipperary 2-25

Dublin manager Pat Gilroy will have been pleased with how his side started proceedings today, but it was Tipperary who had the extra gears, limiting the boys in blue to 0-06 in the second half while the easily registered 1-10.

Despite losing Ronan Maher at the end of the first half to a red card (second yellow) for a foul on Ryan O’Dwyer, Tipp were comfortably systematic and their experience was a massive difference in this match up.

Dublin, who had just come off a spirit lifting victory over laois really came out of the traps and within 10 minutes had stretched to a 0-10 to 0-01 lead, which was definitely not in the script. Donal Burke (2), Danny Sutcliffe, Fiontan McGibb and Conal Keaney had all found the sweet spot before a Jason Forde free opened the scoring for Tipperary.

Sutcliffe scored again and 0-03 from Paul Winters were unanswered before Cian Darcy clocked Tipp’s second and the game changed as Forde, Darcy, Billy McCarthy and John McGrath all got their chance to shoot the lights out. We weren’t even half way through the first session.

By the 23rd the teams were level on 0-11 each, proving Tipp’s credentials, but John McGrath would turns Dublin’s world on it’s head in the 26th with a fine solo run and a shot that passed Alan Nolan and into the net for their first goal.

Tipperary would not relinquish their lead for the rest of the game, despite Dublin pushing right up to the break with more scores from Sutcliffe and McGibb finishing the half trailing 0-14 to 1-15.

Even on 14 men Tipperary were in total control from the break, and the addition of John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer only gave them another dimension. An injury in the 50th saw Dublin lose their defensive king pin Chris Crummey and they never recovered, but did continue to fight.

Five minutes after Crummey’s exit, Michael Breen won possession, and made his run through Paddy Smith and Bill O’Carroll look effortless as he fired the ball into the net for Tipp’s second goal which all but finished the game.

For Dublin, Pat Gilroy will have been buoyed by some great individual performances, particularly from the likes of Danny Sutcliffe and Conal Keaney. Eoghan O’Donnell looked more the player he’s been in recent times, and Shane Barrett put in a positive shift.

Scorers for Dublin:
Donal Burke 0-06 (5fs)
Paul Winters 0-4
Danny Sutcliffe 0-03
Conal Keaney 0-03
Fiontan McGibb 0-2
Shane Barrett 0-01
Fionn O’Riain Broin 0-01 (1f)

Scorers for Tipperary:
Jason Forde 0-09 (7f)
John McGrath 1-04
Michael Breen 1-00
John O’Dwyer 0-02
Cian Darcy 0-02
Seamus Kennedy 0-02
Billy McCarthy 0-01
Ronan Maher 0-01
Padraic Maher 0-01
Sean Curran 0-01
Barry Heffernan 0-01
Alan Flynn 0-01

1. Alan Nolan
2. Paddy Smyth
3. Bill O’Carroll
4. Eoghan O’Donnell
5. Shane Barrett
6. Chris Crummey
7. James Madden
8. Rian McBride
9. Fiontan McGibb
10. Donal Burke
11. Conal Keaney
12. Danny Sutcliffe
13. Ronan Hayes
14. Ryan O’Dwyer
15. Paul Winters

Dublin Subs:
Fergal Whitely for Ronan Hayes (HT)
Robbie Mahon for Ryan O’Dwyer (43)
Darren Kelly for Chris Crummey (49)
Cillian Costello for Paul Winters (55)
Fionn O’Riain Broin for Rian McBride (62)

1. Brian Hogan
2. Alan Flynn
3. James Barry
4. Michael Cahill
5. Barry Heffernan
6. Padraic Maher
7. Ronan Maher
8. Seamus Kennedy
9. Cathal Barrett
10. Seán Curran
11. Billy McCarthy
12. Patrick Maher
13. Michael Breen
14. Jason Forde
15. Cian Darcy

Tipperary Subs
John O’Dwyer for Darcy (45)
Paul Maher for Kennedy (66)
Paul Shanahan for Breen (67)
Tomas Hamill for Feeehan (69)
Willie Connors for McCarthy (70)