The Dublin Hurlers produce Stunning Walsh Cup win over Galway

Walsh Cup - Dublin v Galway

Two for two in the Walsh Cup as Dublin score a massive victory over Galway at Parnell Park yesterday

Walsh Cup - Dublin v Galway

Dublin 3-29
Galway 0-19

Certainly a disappointing day at the office for Galway, but the Dublin Senior Hurlers took advantage to score a huge 3-29 to 0-19 home win. Impressive from start to finish, the Dubs finished 19 points to the good, making it 2 wins in less than a year over the Tribesmen, beating them in last year’s Leinster Semi Final.

0-18 from top scorers Donal Burke who recorded his first starting place for 2022. Burke, Chris Crummey, Rian McBride and Cian O’Sullivan produced massive scores to give the Dubs a 0-10 to 0-03 lead at the first half water break. And on the 20 minute mark McBride registered the first of Dublin’s three goals.

By half time, thanks to more scores from Burke and O’Sullivan, Dublin held an 11 point lead, going into the dressing room 1-16 to 0-08 ahead of Henry Shefflin’s traveling side.

Dublin capitalised on Galway fouls early in the second half as Burke notched up his tally from dead balls. Chris Crummey hit the net for Dublin’s second goal in teh 48th minute, racing clear after being played on by Ronan Hayes.

Mattie Kenny made a raft of subs from the 52nd minute giving valuable game time to some of his subs. Jake Malone and John Hetherton left their mark with scores. Alex Considine and Paul Crummey inter played to set up Crummey for the third goal at the end of the game, sealing a comprehensive win for Dublin ahead of their final Walsh Cup game against Offaly next weekend.

Dublin Scorers:

Donal Burke 0-18 (9f, 1 ’65)
Chris Crummey 1-02
Rian McBride 1-01
Paul Crummey 1-00
Cian O’Sullivan 0-03
Cian O’Callaghan 0-02
Fergal Whitely 0-01
John Hetherton 0-01
Jake Malone 0-01

Galway Scorers:

Evan Niland 0-05 (2f)
Donal O’Shea 0-03 (3f)
Cathal Mannion 0-03
Niall Burke 0-02
Sean Loftus 0-01
Cianan Fahy 0-01
Ronan Glennon 0-01
Padraic Mannion 0-01
Thomas Monaghan 0-01
Conor Caulfield 0-01


Sean Brennan
John Bellew
Eoghan O’Donnell
Andrew Dunphy
James Madden
Paddy Smyth
Daire Gray
Chris Crummey
Conor Burke
Cian O’Sullivan
Rian McBride
Donal Burke
Aidan Mellett
Colin Currie
Fergal Whitely

Dublin Substitutes:

Cian O’Callaghan for Madden (36)
Ronan Smith for Gray (H/T)
Ronan Hayes for Mellett (47)
Alex Considine for Whitely (47)
Davy Keogh for C Crummey (52)
Paul Crummey for C Currie (55)
John Hetherton for O’Sullivan (56)
Jake Malone for McBride (56)
Sean Moran for Dunphy (63)
Luke Walsh for Bellew (66)


Eanna Murphy
Stephen Barrett
Gearoid McInerney
Jack Grealish
Sean Bleahane
Darren Morrissey
TJ Brennan
Sean Loftus
Conor Walsh
Cianan Fahy
Niall Burke
Ronan Glennon
Evan Niland
Kevin Cooney
Donal O’Shea

Galway Substitutes:

Padraic Mannion for Bleahane (30)
Cathal Mannion for Walsh (H/T)
Thomas Monaghan for O’Shea (45)
Jack Hastings for Fahy (52)
Conor Caulfield for Glennon (56)
Tiernan Killeen for Brennan (58)
Ian McGlynn for Barrett (67)