Championship Final Day for Senior Club Football and Hurling


Saturday, March 17th 2018
AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Championship
Corofin v Nemo Rangers (2:00pm)

AIB GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Club Championship
Cuala v Na Piarsaigh (3:45pm)

There’s nothing quite like the colour and spectacle that is the Club Championship Finals on St. Patrick’s Day in Croke Park. And it’s the perfect way to celebrate our national sports. Grass roots indeed takes centre stage in front of a huge crowd to celebrate #TheToughest and certainly THE best club teams in the country.

Obviously there’s a massive swell of support in the capital for the home town boys Cuala, who will look to join the small number of hurling teams in the back to back winners enclosure, but that’s only part of the day.

We’d like to wish all teams involved the very best of luck, but as a proud media outlet for Dublin Gaelic Games, we would especially like to extend our best wishes to the¬† management, players and indeed supporters of Cuala. The next chapter in the history books could very well be the best one yet.

AIB GAA Football All Ireland Club Final

Corofin (Galway) v Nemo Rangers (Cork)

An eagerly anticipated encounter between two proud clubs, who have sampled St Patrick’s Day glory previously. Nemo remain the most decorated football club with seven titles, while Corofin triumphed in 1998 and 2015.

The majority of the victorious team three years ago are still heavily involved alonsgide some emerging talent.¬†Corofin eventually shrugged off Moorefield’s spirited resistance at the penultimate stage, while Nemo defeated Slaughtneil in an epic.

That match confirmed Nemo’s pedigree with Luke Connolly precise in attack. Tomas O Se and Paul Kerrigan also contributed handsomely for Nemo.

Corofin will be looking to Kieran Fitzgerald, an All Ireland winner back in 2001 with Galway, Michael Farragher, Micheal Lundy, Gary Sice, and Ian Burke for inspiration.

AIB GAA Hurling All Ireland Club Final

Cuala (Dublin) v Na Piarsaigh (Limerick)

The last two All Ireland champions meet in what could turn into a classic. Na Piarsaigh were accomplished winners in 2016, Cuala classy standard bearers in 2017.

Both teams are stuffed with proven inter-county players too so this has the potential to be a seriously interesting encounter.

Even though Shane Dowling was unavailable for Na Piarsaigh’s provincial campaign the Limerick side still claimed glory.

Cuala are on a roll also with Con O’Callaghan and David Treacy prolific in attack. Croke Park will again witness their “Ultra” support, like nothing you’ve ever witnessed.

(video credit: GAA NOW via YouTube)