Second Half Goals See Tipperary Overcome Dublin at Croker

Minor Hurling

Conor Bowe and Jason Forde were on target in a thrilling second half in tonight hurling league clash

Hurling - Dublin v Tipperary

Dublin 0-24
Tipperary 2-23
Allianz National Hurling League
Croke Park, Dublin

Tipperary haven’t played a a game of hurling in Croke Park since 2019, and tonight they returned to upset Dublin’s start in this year’s National Hurling League. Second half goals from Conor Bowe and Jason Forde turned out to be the difference, but credit has to go to Dublin who battled through an intense 70 minutes.

For Dublin, it was Donal Burke again who shone, but it would be cause for alarm if Micheál Donoghue relies too heavily on the Na Fianna sharpshooter. Once agin Burke was Dublin’s top scorer with 14 scores tonight, including 7 from play. Alex Considine was on form again and will rue the outstanding performance by Tipperary full back Bryan O’Mara who blocked Considine from increasing his tally as many as three times.

Dublin certinaly frustrated their opponents as everytime Tipp gained an advantage they were quick to rally and close any gaps. The game was tied five times before Forde had Tipp three ahead coming to half time. But Considine and Burke combined before the whistle to leave the minimum between the sides.

On the restart Jack Morris and Forde got the travelers back in their groove. Mark Kehoe picked out half time sub Bowe to hit the net for Tipp’s first green flag. Burke’s work from play saw him recover from 2 missed frees. But their hard work was in vein when Michael Breen sent a long delivery into Forde who flicked it into the net for their second.

Alan Tyna hit back to back scores to increase Tipperary’s lead. And with Barry Horgan stopping attempts from Cian Boland and Paul Crummey it saw Dublin run out of time and Tipperary heading back south with the win.

Dublin Scorers:

Donal Burke 0-14 (6f, 1 ’65)
Alex Considine 0-03
Daire Gray 0-01
Conor Burke 0-01
Danny Sutcliffe 0-01
Chris O’Leary 0-01
Sean Currie 0-01
Joe Flanagan 0-01 (1f)
Paul Crummey 0-01

Tipperary Scorers:

Jason Forde 1-10 (8f)
Conor Bowe 1-00
Gearoid O’Connor 0-04 (2f)
Mark Kehoe 0-03
Seamus Kennedy 0-02
Alan Tynan 0-02
Jake Morris 0-01
Brian McGrath 0-01


1. Sean Brennan
17. John Bellew
3. Eoghan O’Donnell
4. Paddy Doyle
5. James Madden
6. Conor Burke
7. Daire Gray
8. Conor Donohoe
9. Chris O’Leary
10. Donal Burke
11. Danny Sutcliffe
12. Cian Boland
13. Fergal Whitely
14. Alex Considine
15. Cillian Costello

Dublin Substitutes:

20. Joe Flanagan for Costello (53)
25. Paul Crummey for Considine (56)
24. David Keogh for Whitely (61)
23. Donal Leavy for Sutcliffe (61)
26. Sean Currie for D Burke (64)


1. Barry Hogan
2. Conor McCarthy
3. Bryan O’Mara
4. Johnny Ryan
5. Michael Breen
6. Ronan Maher
7. Brian McGrath
8. Conor Stakelum
9. Dan McCormack
10. Alan Tynan
11. Gearoid O’Connor
12. Seamus Kennedy
13. Jason Forde
14. Jake Morris
15. Mark Kehoe

Tipperary Substitutes:

24. Noel McGrath for Brian McGrath (34)
17. Conor Bowe for Stakelum (h/t)
18. Seamus Callanan for Kennedy (56)
23. Patrick Maher for Forde (62)
25. Cian O’Dwyer for O’Connor (68)