A last minute penalty save by Alan Nolan secured the points for Dublin emerging victorious against Waterford


Dublin 1-26
Waterford 4-15

Parnell Park

Without a shadow of a doubt, the Dublin Senior Hurlers put in their finest team performance of the Mattie Kenny era this afternoon, stopping Waterford’s 100% League record in front of a highly vocal crowd in Donnycarney. Oisin O’Rorke’s last minute inclusion in the starting line up proved a positive step as the Kilmacud Crokes man scored 0-11 of Dublin’s 1-26 in game that quite literally had everything.

O’Rorke bagged Dublin’s last four scores, coming from a point down at the 70 minute mark to steal the game by two scores. And in a controversial twist at the very end of the game, Darragh O’Connell received his marching order for what the referee deemed was a deliberate foul on Thomas Walsh. Initially a yellow card was brandished by Fergal Horan and a penalty awarded. But after a consultation with his umpire, Horan returned and produced the red card, much to the disillusion and anger of the home support. However Alan Nolan stepped up for his side, saving the Stephen Bennet strike to secure the win.



All Star Danny Sutcliffe was back to his best this afternoon, orchestrating many of Dublin’s attacking plays, and picking off 0-04 of his own. John Hetherton was immense in the air all afternoon despite only registering 0-02. And veteran Liam Rushe swooped in to give Dublin a vital goal.

Goals conceded a cause for concern?

Dublin will have been disappointed conceding four goals this afternoon from Stephen Bennett (2), Shane Bennett and Thomas Walsh, but their counter attack and response to each must have impressed boss Mattie Kenny. They led by 0-05 with 25 minutes to go but Waterford threw everything at the Dubs getting back on level terms four times. The Deise even took the lead twice, but thanks to Oisin O’Rorke’s fine finishing in the last quarter Dublin were able to hold on.

The Dubs led 0-14 to 3-03 at the break with Waterford keeping up with their opponents thanks to the three first half goals. But a relentless home side were determined not to lose a second league game after defeat to Galway last weekend.

They now look forward to their final round game against Laois next weekend, while Waterford have the unenviable task of facing Galway. Permutations aside, Dublin, Galway and Waterford have secured their Quarter Final slots with one left to fill in Division 1B.

Limerick dropped points in Division 1A today losing to Cork, but are guaranteed a knockout spot. The remaining three slots will be contested by Wexford, Kilkenny, Tipperary and Cork, who are all level on 4 league points with one round to go.


Allianz League Division 1B Table

Scorers for Dublin:

Oisin O’Rorke 0-11 (8f, 1 ’65)
Liam Rushe 1-01
Eamonn Dillon 0-04
Danny Sutcliffe 0-04
Chris Crummey 0-02
John Hetherton 0-02
Shane Barrett 0-01
Fergal Whitely 0-01

Scorers for Waterford:

Stephen Bennett 2-07 (1-07f)
Shane Bennett 1-02
Thomas Ryan 1-01
Jamie Barron 0-02
Kevin Moran 0-02
Jack Prendergast 0-01


1. Alan Nolan
8. Darragh O’Connell
3. Eoghan O’Donnell
2. Paddy Smyth
5. Chris Crummey
6. Sean Moran
7. Shane Barrett
4. Daire Gray
9. Riain McBride
24. Caolan Conway
12. Danny Sutcliffe
15. Eamon Dillon
11. John Hetherton
14. Liam Rushe
19. Oisin O’Rorke

Dublin Substitutes:

18. Tomas Connolly for Barrett (49)
20. Sean Treacy for Gray (49)
10. Jake Malone for McBride (53)
17. Fergal Whitely for Treacy (56)
13. Donal Burke for Conway (64)


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)
2. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
3. Conor Prunty (Abbeside)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Callum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
10. DJ Foran (Portlaw)
11. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion)
12. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
13. Thomas Ryan (Tallow)
14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

Waterford Substitutes:

19. Michael Walsh for Foran (HT)
23. Mikey Kearney for O’Brien (HT)
18. Philip Mahony for Lyons (53)
20. Jordan Henley for Prunty (58)
24. Pauric Mahony for Prendergast (61)