U20 Hurlers - Leinster Final

Dublin 2-13 Cork 0-23

Cork Corner Forward Brian Turnbull had one thing on his mind yesterday afternoon as he scored a personal tally 0-13 from Cork’s 0-23 to secure an All Ireland Final place against Galway, their first since 2007.

Dublin to their credit tried to capitalise in the last quarter with Cork’s Robbie Downey being dismissed on a second yellow card leaving Cork with 14 on the field.

Despite being without Evan Sheehan, Cork played out of their boots, with Turnbull proving a constant annoyance to the Dublin defence, winning countless frees and converting them.

Sean Currie again didn’t disappoint for Dublin, scoring 0-06 in the game. The forward could have even come away with a green flag, but Ger Millerick had other ideas.

Despite a good opening from Currie for Dublin, the rebels got off to a flyer and were 0-05 clear of Dublin inside the first quarter 0-07 to 0-02. Liam Murphy an Currie added two to close the gap to 0-03 before Cork went 0-04 unanswered to stretch out a seven point gap on the half hour mark.

Dublin did grasp the boost they needed in additional time when Eoghan O’Neill got a vital goal with his boot right at the break leaving the score at 1-04 to 0-11.

Daire Connery opened the scoring for Cork after the break, Dublin won a penalty and it was up to goalkeeper Conor O’Donoghue to take the shot, but sadly the Dublin shot stopper saw his effort go wide.

For the longest spell the game was literally point for point as Cork answered every score Dublin achieved. Currie and Murphy slotted scores over between them, while Turnbull and Connery did the same. O’Neill sent a point over to leave the gap at four between the sides with 5 minutes of normal time to go but Cork responded with a couple of their own.

Emmet Allen’s point was also cancelled out and the game was heading to full time at 1-13 to 0-22. But Mark Grogan stole an opportunity to turn a delivery from Currie into the Cork net to give Dublin a late life line. Sadly though it was too much of an ask for more time, as Brian Turnbull secured possession from the resulting puck out and split the posts to end the game and send Cork through to the All Ireland Final.

Scorers for Dublin:
Eoghan O’Neill 1-01
Mark Grogan 1-01
Sean Currie 0-06 (3f)
Liam Murphy 0-04 (3f)
Emmet Allen 0-01

Scorers for Cork:
Brian Turnbull 0-13 (11f)
Daire Connery 0-05 (2f)
Diarmuid Linehan 0-02
Brian Roche 0-02
Ger Millerick 0-01

1. Conor O’Donoghue (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
2. Andrew Dunphy (St Brigid’s)
3. Ben McHugh (Raheny)
4. Kevin Burke (Na Fianna)
5. Eoghan O’Neill (St Vincent’s)
6. Luke Walsh (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
8. David Keogh (Thomas Davis)
9. Ben Coffey (Lucan Sarsfields)
10. Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Emmet Allen (Lucan Sarsfields)
12. Enda O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
13. Liam Murphy (Cuala)
14. Sean Currie (Na Fianna)
15. Luke McDwyer (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

11. Emmet Allen (Lucan Sarsfields) for Coffey (52)
23. Diamraid O Floinn (Cuala) for Derwin (52)
17. Tom Aherne (Ballinteer St John’s) for O’Donnell (62)

1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)
2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes (capt, Midleton)
4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
5. Aaron Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill)
6. James Keating (Kildorrery)
7. Ger Millerick (Fr. O Neill’s)
8. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Diarmuid Linehan (Ballyhooly)
10. Craig Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Liam O Shea (Lisgoold)
12. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)
13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
15. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)

20. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons) for Hanafin (47)
23. Declan Hannon (Blarney) for Buckley (48)
24. Colin O’Brien (Liscaroll/Churchtown Gaels) for Roche (60)