With the shortlist for this year’s BGE U21 Hurling Team of the Year announced, it’s wonderful to see Dublin’s young stars so heavily represented.

Nine of Joe Fortune’s 2016 panel have made the nominations list.

Goalkeeper: Jonathan Treacy

Defenders: Eoghan O’Donnell, James Madden, Cian Mac Gabhann, Shane Barrett

Midfielder: Jake Malone

Forwards: Seán Treacy, AJ Murphy, Chris Bennett.

The shortlist will be whittled down and the final selection will be announced on Newstalk’s Off the Ball show on Tuesday October 4th and Wednesday October 5th.

It will come as no surprise that All Ireland champions Waterford lead the tally with 12 nominees in total.

All the winners will be presented with awards at a special ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House on Saturday October 8th.

It’s a clean sweep for Waterford in the Player of the Year category. Defender Austin Gleeson is joined by forwards Patrick Curran and Stephen Bennett on the three-man shortlist. And this coveted award, along with the ‘B’ championship Player of the Year will be revealed on the night of the event.

Just two players who were named on the 2015 Team of the Year are again in contention to be honoured. Limerick’s Richie English who was named at full-back last year could retain his position. Galway’s Brian Molloy, who won an award last year at corner forward, is nominated for the centre-forward berth.

Dublin Senior Hurling manager, Bord Gáis Energy Ambassador and leading panel judge said: “The Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year brings the U21 season to a close and has become a mainstay of the GAA awards scene. It’s is a fitting way to end another great season.”

“Forty five players have been nominated and it all comes down to getting their hands on one of those coveted fifteen spots. It’s great to be able to showcase these players’ individual exploits and raw skill.”

All-Ireland champions Waterford have twelve representatives on the list of nominees. Dublin have nine players nominated with Galway and Tipperary with five each. Westmeath, Limerick and Offaly have three nominees each while Clare have two. Cork, Wexford and Antrim have one apiece.

The full judging panel for the awards includes Ger Cunningham; TG4’s Micheál Ó Domhnaill; Galway star, Joe Canning and Waterford great Ken McGrath.

Full Shortlist for Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year

Goalkeepers: Jordan Henley (Waterford), Brian Hogan (Tipperary), Jonathan Treacy (Dublin)

Right Corner Back: James Madden (Dublin), William Hahassy (Waterford), Simon Donoghue (Wexford)

Full Back: Richie English (Limerick), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)

Left Corner Back: Tom Fox (Tipperary), Paddy Delaney (Offaly), Darragh Lyons (Waterford)

Right Half Back: Cian MacGabhann (Dublin), Michael Harney (Waterford), Ben Connelly (Offaly)

Centre Back: Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Ronan Maher (Tipperary), Liam Varley (Westmeath)

Left Half Back: Shane Barrett (Dublin), Ben O’Gorman (Clare), Seán Loftus (Galway)

Midfield: Jake Malone (Dublin), Shane Bennett (Waterford), Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick), Ronan Lynch (Limerick), Dan Nevin (Galway), Colm Roche (Waterford)

Right Half Forward: Seán Treacy (Dublin), Michael Kearney (Waterford), Pa O’Callaghan (Cork)

Centre Forward: Brian Molloy (Galway), Andrew Coffey (Tipperary), Tom Devine (Waterford)

Left Half Forward: Niall Mitchell (Westmeath), Shane Gleeson (Clare), Seán Linnane (Galway)

Right Corner Forward: Patrick Curran (Waterford), AJ Murphy (Dublin), Eanna Burke (Galway)

Full Forward: Stephen Bennett (Waterford), Stephen Quirke (Tipperary), Ciaran Doyle (Westmeath)

Left Corner Forward: Chris Bennett (Dublin), Emmet Nolan (Offaly), Saul McCaughan (Antrim)

Nominations for Player of the Year

Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

Patrick Curran (Waterford)

Stephen Bennett (Waterford)


U21 hurling supporters and Off the Ball listeners are being given their chance to vote for the Score of the Year. Twelve great scores from this season’s championship have been listed. Go to to choose your favourite and be in with a chance to win a brilliant hotel getaway for two.

Nominations for Bord Gáis Energy Off the Ball Score of the Year Award

Seán Ryan Leinster Quarter-Final Dublin v Wexford

Chris Bennett Leinster Semi-Final Dublin v Westmeath

Mark Coleman Munster Quarter-Final Cork v Limerick

Seán Treacy Leinster Final Dublin v Offaly

Colm Roche Munster Semi-Final Waterford v Clare

Andrew Coffey Munster Semi-Final Tipperary v Limerick

Peter Hogan Munster Final Waterford v Tipperary

Patrick Curran All-Ireland Semi-Final Waterford v Antrim

James Madden All-Ireland Semi-Final Dublin v Galway

Stefan Kelly ‘B’ Championship Final Meath v Mayo

Stephen Bennett All-Ireland Final Waterford v Galway

Patrick Curran/Stephen Bennett All-Ireland Final Waterford v Galway.

And to keep you reminded of some of Dublin’s amazing performances in this year’s BGE Championship, here are the four scores nominated for the Score of The Year.

Make Sure you cast your vote.

1. Seán Ryan Leinster Quarter-Final Dublin v Wexford

2. Chris Bennett Leinster Semi-Final Dublin v Westmeath

4. Seán Treacy Leinster Final Dublin v Offaly

9. James Madden All-Ireland Semi-Final Dublin v Galway

(video credits: Bord Gáis Energy vis Vimeo)