The Dublin Minor Hurlers travel to Nowlan Park for their Leinster Championship Opener


Dublin Minor Hurlers - Leinster Championship
Kilkenny v Dublin
Saturday, April 27th. 4:00pm
Nowlan Park

Memories come flooding back to last year’s Leinster Minor Hurling Final in O’Moore Park. Dublin and Kilkenny faced each other in a thrilling encounter. The outcome? Dublin were crowned Leinster Champions that day on an amazing 6-19 to 7-12 scoreline.

Tomorrow, the Dubs go again, under the watchful eye of Mike Connolly who steered them to provincial victory last year. Again they must face Kilkenny, along with Offaly and Wexford in Tier 1. The winners and runners up in Tier 1 automatically advance to the competition Semi Finals. Failing that they face the quarter finals. So the round robin phase is there to decide positioning.

But the Dublin boss won’t look past tomorrow’s opening tie.

“We are going down to play in a proper stadium on a top hurling pitch against a very good team and it is this type of challenge that keeps everyone going over the months of training.” Connolly told Official Dublin GAA.

“It’s a very important game for us as fellas need to get out their and perform”

“You can not overestimate the importance of these type of matches as it gives the lads a taste of what championship is all about and is far more valuable than any number of training sessions.”

Although Dublin won the Leinster title against Kilkenny, the cats were the winners of the round game played in Parnell Park. And a good result will be key to Dublin’s defence of the title.

Mike Connolly has named his panel for tomorrow’s game. The side will be captained by defender Adam Waddick from Thomas Davis

Dublin (MHC v Kilkenny)
  1. Eoin O’Connor – Fingallians
  2. Conor Burke – St Mark’s
  3. Davy Crowe Kilmacud Crokes
  4. Tommy O’Brien – Clontarf
  5. Ryan Malone – Cuala
  6. Adam Waddick – Thomas Davis
  7. Cian O Catahsaigh – Kilmacud Crokes
  8. Conal Ó Tuathaill Cuala
  9. Colm Walsh – Lucan Sarsfields
  10. Ben Mcsweeney – St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh
  11. Conor Murray – Castlenock
  12. Darragh Kenny – Ballyboden St Enda’s
  13. Charlie Keher – Lucan Sarsfields
  14. Luke Swan – Castlenock
  15. Brendan Scanlon – Kilmacud Crokes
Dublin Substitutes
  1. Aaron Lacey – Fingallians
  2. Joe Flannagan – Naomh Barrog
  3. Andrew Keegan – Clontarf
  4. James O’brien – Faughs
  5. Mark Murphy – Raheny
  6. Evin Dowling – Lucan Sarsfields
  7. Tom Brennan – Na Fianna
  8. Dara Purcell – Kilmacud Crokes
  9. Tom Gleeson – Na Fianna