New Dublin boss will be watching closely in this year’s Dublin Bus/Herald Dubs Stars Hurling Challenge

Dubs Stars 2018

Saturday, December 22nd. 1:30pm
Naomh Barrog GAA Club, Kilbarrack

The Dublin Senior Hurling panel have already put two wins under their belts in the new Walsh Cup competition. And new senior manager Mattie Kenny has gone for a more youthful looking panel to face the 2018 Dubs Star Hurlers this weekend in Naomh Barrog.

The names in the team are names associated with Dublin’s Minor grade over the past number of years. Kilmacud Crokes and Craobh Chiarain are heavily represented. Caolan Conway starts, having played a role in both Dublin’s Walsh Cup games. As does Ronan Hayes who scored against Offaly at the weekend after coming on the replace Eamonn Dillon. And Oisin O’Rourke make completes the trio, also featuring in the opener against Carlow.

Darren Kelly, Conor Ryan and Billy Ryan will represent Chiarain’s on Saturday. Luke Walsh and Ronan Smith represent Lucan Sarsfields, with the remaining positions being filled by players from Na Fianna, Ballyboden St. Endas, St. Brigids, Thomas Davis, Whitehall Colmcille, Cuala and Ballinteer St. John’s.

Dubs Stars

Dublin Senior Hurling Finalists Ballyboden St Enda’s and Kilmacud Crokes shared the spoils at the announcement of the 2018 Dublin Bus/Herald Dubs Stars Team earlier this year.

The Champions and runners up both had six players in the starting selection with two more each among the subs. David O’Connor, Simon Lambert, Niall McMorrow, Paul Ryan, Conal Keaney and Aidan Mellett were all selected from Ballyboden. Crokes Matt Collins, Bill O’Carroll, Cian MacGabhann, Ryan O’Dwyer, Lorcan McMullan and Mark Howard also made the starting 15. In addition Ross O’Carroll and Fergal Whitely represented Kilmacud on the bench with Ballyboden’s Shane Durkin and Niall Ryan joining them.

Cuala came away with two positions in the starting 15. Darragh O’Connell at wing-back and David Treacy in the half-forward line.

St Vincent’s John Hetherton completed the selection at centre-forward making the split shared across only four teams.

Dublin Senior Hurlers Starting 15:

1 Jonathan Treacy (Na Fianna)
2 Luke Walsh (Lucan Sarsfields)
3 Luke Corcoran (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
4 Donnacha Ryan (St Brigid’s)
5 Davy Keogh (Thomas Davis)
6 Darren Kelly (Craobh Chiarain)
7 Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
8 Conor Ryan (Craobh Chiarain)
9 Ronan Smith (Lucan Sarsfields)
10 Diarmuid Ó Floinn (Cuala)
11 Caolan Conway (Kilmacud Crokes)
12 Glenn Whelan (Ballinteer St John’s)
13 Ronan Hayes (Kilmacud Crokes)
14 Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
15 Billy Ryan (Craobh Chiarain)

2018 Dublin Bus/Herald Dubs Stars Hurling Team:

1 Matt Collins (Kilmacud Crokes)
2 David O’Connor (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
3 Bill O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4 Cian Mac Gabhann (Kilmacud Crokes)
5 Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)
6 Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
7 Simon Lambert (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
8 Lorcan McMullan (Kilmacud Crokes)
9 Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10 Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
11 John Hetherton (St Vincent’s)
12 David Treacy (Cuala)
13 Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14 Marc Howard (Kilmacud Crokes)
15 Aidan Mellett (Ballyboden St Enda’s)


Dara de Poire (St Vincent’s)
Ross O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)
Niall Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
Colin Currie (Na Fianna)