Dublin Manager Mattie Kenny has named a solid starting 15 for their trip to Nowlan Park

Mattie Kenny - Dublin Starting 15 Leinster Championship

Kilkenny v Dublin
Saturday, May 11th. 7:00pm
Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

After a lot of talk this week about injuries heading into the weekend’s opening Leinster Senior Hurling Championship games, Mattie Kenny has named a strong Dublin starting 15 to contest against Kilkenny.

The Dubs are carrying plenty of knocks into the game and are without Mark Schutte, Paul Winters, Cian O’Callaghan, Fionntan MacGibb and John Hetherton for the Nowlan Park showdown. But there’s definitely no shortage of experience and skill in the fifteen. Eight players that started in Dublin’s last Leinster game against Galway in 2018 start tomorrow night.

David Treacy get a start joining three other Cuala panel members, slotting in for the injured John Hetherton. Liam Rushe returns from injury, joining Oisin O’Rorke and Eamon Dillon in the Full Forward line. Shane Barrett, who was a last minute replacement for Jake Malone in Dublin’s League Semi Final defeat to Limerick, also starts.

Earlier this week Mattie Kenny was under no illusions the task that faces his side, despite their impressive progress this year. Dublin finished top of the Allianz League Division 1B table and it took reigning All Ireland Champions Limerick to dispose of them in the last four after an impressive win against Tipperary in the Quarter Final.

“Every game takes on its own life.” Kenny told Official Dublin GAA.

“It’s the first game of the Championship. League form doesn’t always transcend into Championship. Championship is a completely different animal.”

“We won’t know the true form of teams until that first round is over.”

Kilkenny too have their share of concerns heading into tomorrow’s game. Goalkeeper Eoin Murphy and defenders Joey Holden, Cillian Buckley, James Maher and Conor Delaney are all ruled out for various lengths of time and none of them will feature against the Boys in Blue.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Kilkenny)

1.  Alan Nolan (St. Brigids)
2.  Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3.  Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4.  Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)
5.  Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6.  Seán Moran (Cuala)
7.  Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
8.  Seán Treacy (Cuala)
9.  Darragh O’Connell (Cuala)
10.  David Treacy (Cuala)
11.  Danny Sutcliffe (St. Jude’s)
12.  Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
13.  Oisín O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes)
14.  Liam Rushe St. Patrick’s (Palmerstown)
15.  Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)